๐Ÿณ The Top 50 Steemit Authors Posting Strategies: How To Be A Whale ๐Ÿณ

in #steemit โ€ข 7 years ago

@Jerrybanfield called out for someone to write a post on this subject, and I thought that looking at the most successful Steemians, and trying to analyse how they do what they do would be a super interesting topic. I am not great with data, but I got my lovely husband @rlamasb to help me pull the stats, so here is my analysis of what the Top 50 Authors(for the last 30 days) posting strategies are and how you can try to utilise these strategies for your own success. Look out for the whale hints and tips along the way ๐Ÿณ:

๐Ÿ‘‘ What Tags Do They Use? ๐Ÿ‘‘

Here is a list of the most frequently used main tag by the Top 50 authors


๐Ÿณ I was surprised that tags like 'Food' and 'Life' ranked higher than things like 'Steemit' and 'Cryptocurrency', given the nature of the platform, but hey... I guess we are all alive and we all have to eat food to stay alive, right?๐Ÿณ

Speaking of food, those 205 posts were made by 11 out of the Top 50 authors, @abdullar, @allasyummyfood, @barrydutton, @craig-grant, @darthnava, @doitvoluntarily, @gringalicious, @knozaki2015, @papa-pepper, @razvanelulmarin, @slowwalker and @sweetsssj

Top authors blogging about the most popular topic of 'Life' in the last 30 days were: @abdullar, @allasyummyfood, @barrydutton, @calaber24p, @darthnava, @firepower, @furionm @jerrybanfield, @jrcornel, @kafkarnachy84, @kaylinart, @kevinwong, @kyriacos, @meesterboom, @mynameisbrian, @papa-pepper, @razvanelulmarin, @sweetsssj, @thecryptofiend, @trafalgar

Bitcoin: Top authors who have posted with the main tag bitcoin in the last 30 days were: @acidyo, @barrydutton, @calaber24p, @craig-grant, @hilarski, @joseph, @jrcornel, @kafkanarchy84, @kingscrown, @thecryptofiend and @zer0hedge.

๐Ÿณ If you are wanting to be more successful in your Steemit blog I would definitely reccomend checking out any one of these authors listed above. One thing to notice is that @craig-grant appears to post in each one of those 3 most popular topics, making himself as appealing as possible to a wider audience! ๐Ÿณ

๐Ÿ‘‘ What do their posts consist of? ๐Ÿ‘‘

Word Count

You can see the Top 19 average under a maximum of 900 words. Some of those with fewer word count average such as @craig-grant, @allasyummyfood and @knozaki2015 are using a mixture of texts, links to videos on their Youtube channels and pictures.

Some of the top authors with the higher average wordcount are @jerrybanfield and @roelandp, @hilarski has a lower word count - often choosing to use bold images to enhance his ideas, and GIFs as well to add some humour! @mynameisbrian has the lowest average word count - because his blog is made up of original comic strips.

๐Ÿ‘‘ How much are they getting paid? ๐Ÿ‘‘

I hadn't heard of @darthnava before (I'm new here!) but was shocked when looking at highest payout over the last 30 days to see such an amazing figure, more than @dollarvigilante received for his Introduceyourself. I found it quite heartwarming to see the highest paid out post of the top 50 authors was for someone in need of funds for medical treatment. That made me feel like: Wow, Steemit is pretty amazing!

Aside from @darthnava, here are some of the other max and average payout figures from authors in the Top 50, showing that they really are raking in those dollar bills.

๐Ÿณ I thought @craig-grant's average was interesting as it is one of the lowest, but then when I saw that his average posting frequency is every 3 hours it seems his tactic to earning big bucks is just to consistently be pumping out the quality content that his followers love to upvote. ๐Ÿณ

๐Ÿ‘‘ How Often Are They Posting? ๐Ÿ‘‘

This table shows the average posting frequency per author

๐Ÿณ As you can see, everyone is different but still relatively consistent. Just looking at these results, I would say that posting daily is probably a good idea, and you wouldn't want to go any long than 2 days without posting on your blog. ๐Ÿณ

Were you surprised by any of the tactics of the Top 50 Authors? Will you try and change anything about the way you post by writing more often, changing your tags or even changing the amount of text and pictures you use? Let me know in the comments!!

Thanks so much for reading, please upvote, resteem and follow me if you liked this post! ๐Ÿ˜ Check out the social network analysis that my husband @rlamasb made for the Top 50 posts from the Top 50 Authors here: https://goo.gl/57mDjV

Sort: ย 

Just wanted to let you know all is good and I received my payment from Living Room of Satoshi with no worries.
I spoke to them and told him you are he person that helped me find Living Room of Satoshi and that you should receive all the credit for helping them get a lot of exposure.
Thanks so much for all your kindness and...yes the wife is still feeding me ; o) and "we" have now got "our" new glasses : o)

Ohhh @thehomesteadlife I am so happy to hear this! I am going to tell my husband that you managed to get your payment okay because I told him I felt bad for you :)
Very happy to hear you and your wife got your new glasses :)

Thank you luv your a real diamond : o)

Some Really Great Info, Especially For Someone As New As Me To Steemit !
Thanks for the interaction & awesome post !

thanks girl!! :)

Sorry @Hannahlicious just seeing this now. As you know I believe in mixing media in my posts. I am aiming for the visual reader since my writing is not the best. Thank you for the mention. I hope to meet you at SteemFest.

of course @hilarski :) and yeah Lisbon is a long way from Sydney, but definitely keen to go, hope I will be able to attend and meet you too!

That's pretty funny. I learned from this post I was in the top 20 earning authors. That's amazing because my average post earns like 100 compared to all the trending peeps at 1k+.

hahah thats so crazy @aggroed that you didn't know :) Amazing, well i'm sure it wont be long before you're at the trending page earning 1k+ per post :)

I highly doubt it. Besides. I'm happy with a hundo. I feel blessed. This was a great post and thanks for making it.

thank you! :)

OUTSTANDING post thank you very much because this is VERY HELPFUL for me to read and learn from! I upvoted 100% and will upvote your comment also on the original post! I followed and am excited to read more like this!

thank you so much @jerrybanfield, i am super happy you liked it! very excited to hear you are following :)

Man that @jerrybanfield writes some long winded posts :)

Oh yes! He writes such long winded but very useful posts!!! @jerrybanfield thanks to your post I am on steemit today! Big respect man!

Great article, I can see you put plenty of work into this. Also thanks to your husband!

I would just add that adding fewer high quality articles gives you a higher chance of being found through Google or of your articles going viral (within and outside of Steemit) and these can lead to a huge increase in followers.

That has been my experience. I always strive to provide value of some sort and if possible a lot of value.

really well put together, i can see someone aiming to be a whale sooner than later! :) -- also, i noticed the inclusion of the life tag ;)

thanks a lot @teamhumble! haha you're on the ball :)

Interesting posting @hannahlicious :)

thank you lovely @awesome-seven :)

Great Informative Post thanks :)

thank you!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49