You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM is still very fragile right now. DO NOT be complacent. WARNING TO EVERYONE ABOUT OUTAGES.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I think many of us are tired of bouncing around social platforms and found Steemit to feel most like home - until we became a minnows in a teacup. I personally don't like busy.org and I'm not really interested in signing in through 3rd party sources (which are just as vulnerable).

There has been so many users attacked and phished lately that it has caused uncertainty - that isn't good. When doubt begins to shroud the platform, we're in trouble. I agree, now is the time (if ever) to be resilient and to build a stronger platform.

My issues with the platform are not so much technical but rather with the 'inner-circle' dilemma and how discouraging it is to new users.

The fact that certain users get autovoted for shit-content is killing this platform in tandem with those abusing it completely. Sure, autovotes are great but not when it promotes empty content. When I came here a few months ago I saw "quality matters', but it truly doesn't. Social circles are the only matter.

Pimp yourself to the inner circle and you might have a fighting chance. Otherwise, set your expectations to zero and post away - you might get lucky.

It doesn't help that we have serious abuse going on, plagiarism gets rewarded, attacks on the platform and power users dumping steem into the market while promoting to get new people on board. It's a sick, sad little world here lately. Greed is strangling this platform, but that is just my 2¢ for what it's worth. A conversation worth having, so I resteemed to get some more thoughts here.

Sort:  

You've really highlighted what I've observed and suspected all along... especially about the inner circle...

When I came here a few months ago I saw "quality matters', but it truly doesn't. Social circles are the only matter.

Well said.

I hear what you're saying. However, even inner circles implode. There's evidence of this type of carnage if you hunt and seek it out.
Some join inner circles only to be booted from them, and have to show up in another inner circle until that one is short lived too. So it's a constant fight that way as well.
I think we need to focus on uptime and availability first.
Next, we focus on inner circles and greed
Finally we can talk about SMT after the first two are addressed (which is going to be an ongoing effort over the next year, for sure).

I agree, uptime and availability should be the ultimate focus at this point. And yes, it'll take time - likely through next year. At this point I just do not think it's the focus. It seems that Ned has his sights set on the next project, while the platform is at a critical juncture.

The SMT should be back burner and I agree with you that reprioritizing is vital at the moment.

@ned seems to be following in @dan's footsteps - on to the next best thing.

I wouldn't put Ned and Dan on the same level, Dan has paid a very steep price for making Steem FOSS...

You are quite right. I simply point out that @dan went on from Steem and no longer is working on making it better, and that now, @ned seems to be giving all his attention to SMT, and letting Steemit be practically unusable.

I didn't mean to imply that they are united in purpose or sentiment, merely that their actions are similar and similarly sequential.

I agree! I came here a few months back i love it here but after a while i realized that unless i understand the crypto market completely and buy alot of steem at a very low price to actually see real money. I mean dont get me wrong im not leaving theres a lot of great people helpful people and getting what ever it maybe 10 cents or 2 dollars for sharing my thoughts or writing about something that i like and am interested in is better then nothing but i can see the abuse could make the platform crash hopefully theres a way to be fair for newbies and people that have been there and helped make this platform what it is also

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89