You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tutorial- How to install steem python and use steem CLI on Ubuntu 16.04

in #steemit7 years ago

Thank you for your great help and your patience. I did as you say. The process starts with this message, in yellow:

The directory '/home/julio/.cache/pip/http' or its parent directory is not owned by the current user and the cache has been disabled. Please check the permissions and owner of that directory. If executing pip with sudo, you may want sudo's -H flag.
The directory '/home/julio/.cache/pip' or its parent directory is not owned by the current user and caching wheels has been disabled. check the permissions and owner of that directory. If executing pip with sudo, you may want sudo's -H flag.

Process ends with this message:

ompilation terminated.
error: command 'x86_64-linux-gnu-gcc' failed with exit status 1

----------------------------------------

Command "/usr/bin/python3 -u -c "import setuptools, tokenize;file='/tmp/pip-build-uumczq4y/scrypt/setup.py';f=getattr(tokenize, 'open', open)(file);code=f.read().replace('\r\n', '\n');f.close();exec(compile(code, file, 'exec'))" install --record /tmp/pip-o2nmvx3c-record/install-record.txt --single-version-externally-managed --compile" failed with error code 1 in /tmp/pip-build-uumczq4y/scrypt/

Sort:  

hmm..seems like your missing some dependency, i'd suggest upgrading to newer python version and then try

Thank you so much.

I have Anaconda installed in my Windows machine. I do not know how to upgrade python in my Linux machine. Can I do all this in Anaconda, perhaps in a Jupyter notebook? Or maybe you can give some guidance on how to upgrade python in my linux mint installation. I have tried different ways, with no luck. I do not even remember what I did, but I tried. Same thing with pip. I recieve messages that I have an old version, 8.1.1, but when I do as the message says to upgrade to 9.0.1, I receive a message that the system is already up to date.

Haven't used anaconda..hit me up on steemit chat or discord

Ok I´ll do that. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13