Steem mining and the upcoming Hard Fork v2.0

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So, as some of you might know, there is a Hard Fork (HF) scheduled for this coming Tuesday the 26th for Steem. For any normal user, this is not an issue and all will continue to function as normal.

HOWEVER - me, being a newbie to Steem, have been considering mining Steem. I have been looking at the posts on Steemit and found the Mining for Dummies post that explained how to mine Steem on an Ubuntu virtual machine.

My project for this weekend will be to complete the mining setup to see how effective my rig will be for mining Steem.

The question I now have for @dan , @ned and any of the other Steem experts is the following:

Would I need to change anything on Tuesday, if I have completed my Steem mining setup over the coming weekend?

I assume I would need to make changes, so that I would be mining on the new fork and not on the old fork?

I am sure I am not the only one with this question. Any assistance from the community would be much appreciated. please post with your hints, tips and advice. Thank you very much.

/off to start boiling the kettle to get more STEEM :-)

Disclosure: I would really like to get some feedback on my questions below, so please forgive me for posting version 2.0. This will also be an interesting experiment to see how a different audience (+-7 hours apart) rate the same content. Let the science commence.

Sort:  

as from what i've read on @tuck-fheman last update on steem post https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/how-to-mine-steem-in-windows , the miner, for Windows at least, will be changed, but most probably we will have some changes in Ubuntu mining also...good question ... we are waiting for an proper answer..

Thanks @clau for the great info! I will do some further digging as well.

Good question.
I have been mining Steem, and the area of mining documentation is pretty much in the dark still.
Granted there are a bunch of "How to's" to start mining, but not much on mining stats and how mining actually works.
One of the premises of Steem is "all participants get rewarded according to their participation"
I wonder if all miners get rewarded at the end, regardless of their hashing rate, or we have the same situation as in Bitcoin where only the super mining rigs and pools get rewarded.
I would really appreciate if someone can clear this up a bit.

I need to dig a bit more. I was not having a lot of luck with my mining endeavour. According to what I could see, I was mining, but I never mined a block, so got no rewards. I will try it again, just a bit pressed for time the last few weeks. Will update on any of my findings here for anybody interested.

good question. I think you will need to update your client with the Hardfork specific changes. Good luck to you!

Thanks so much for the feedback @geronimo! Do you maybe have any more technical details, or can point me in the right direction?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64