You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick Update Regarding User Retention

in #steemit8 years ago

@clayop
I disagree.

When I first found Steemit I was aimlessly posting as much as I could just to be noticed, because I didn't know what the site wanted or needed. Then after reading some articles by much smarter people, I began to only worry about the quality of my work.

Yes, the amount of content I post has dramatically decreased, but I am much more engaged now than I was back then and I fell very successful.

I imagine my story is not uncommon here, because I am also witnessing a lot more high quality content, by people who used to post anything and everything in an attempt to find their place.

Sort:  

That totally makes sense. I was posting a lot of old content to see what stuck in the beginning, then the newest FAQ came out insinuating that only 4 posts a day could get maximum payout, so, I dialed it back to and started putting up 2 to 3 posts a day and adjusting to follow some patterns from successful users regarding the type of content. My results were that I have ended up in the top 25 in payouts and I've only been here two weeks. I agree with your assessment.

@markrmorrisjr
You are doing very well.

I just noticed your The Anarchist's Almanac series last night, so I followed you, although I haven't had a chance to read it yet. At first glance I noticed that you have a very different writing style than me and I find that really fascinating.

I grew up writing for the stage. Anarchist's Almanac is probably my most traditionally crafted piece, of what I've shared on here. From 8th grade on I was also home schooled, so, I developed my "style" if I have one, from reading classics and then bringing it into a more modern setting. I've been writing professionally full time for about 8 years now, but this is my first chance to actually focus on my fiction instead of constantly worrying about freelance client deadlines. You should check out the Hunting Bigfoot story, which I will be expanding soon, it's pretty different.

@markrmorrisjr
I was the complete opposite, I received a terrible education and I still have trouble reading, but I wrote for a creative piece for a newspaper for about a year. I continued to write screenplays, but Steemit is a different beast altogether. This is my first time writing in such fast paced in environment, where instant feedback is freely given. It affords me the opportunity to experiment and learn different techniques.

I will definitely check out your Hunting Bigfoot series. What type of freelance stuff were you working on before?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59