Why Steemit's Brain Drain Will Retrain Social Media

in #steemit7 years ago

Steemit is a remarkable platform. It is the first social media network to capture my attention. All the others felt like work. Worse than that, they felt like make work.

Digging a hole and filling it back in. This week I posted a video by Scott Adams about the rules for writing. I summarized Scott's excellent points and linked the video.

https://steemit.com/writing/@goldgoatsnguns/the-day-scott-adams-made-me-a-better-writer

It has made $0.84 so far. I cross-posted it on Twatter and Scott liked and retweeted it. That tweet garnered a month's worth of impressions. It was the best performing tweet of my years on Twatter. I hooked a whale.

And I picked up maybe 20 followers. Woo-hoo! Go me!

But, my goal was the nearly 1900 views here on Steemit. 1900 people came from Twatter to Steemit to read that article.

How many of them stayed?

How many made an account?

How many of them will, like me, stop returning to the name-calling, shadow-banning, bot-spamming noise like a dog to its vomit.

I re-post everything I post here to my ~1400 followers on ~Twatter. I spend almost zero time there now. Three weeks ago before Steemit I spent at least an hour a day watering my Twatter garden and I hated it. My audience was not growing.

It was the wrong form of communication for me.

Steemit is worth nurturing -- find new folks, write posts with guts and pathos, information-rich and purpose-full. Quality sells itself.

Steemit's strength is this -- it rewards quality while devaluing quantity.

And it will lead an exodus of the best writers away from social media platforms where you and your data are the product.

Twatter and Faceboobs want my attention but not my input. They hate what I have to say. But they think they own me because simply everyone who is anyone is using their platform. They believe we have Stockholm Syndrome and welcome their abuse.

They are delusional.

Here? In three weeks I have 124 followers but something to show for it. My account is worth real money, a reflection of the value I've created for others. As a free-market guy I cherish that $0.84 and as a writer the 1900 views. Both tell me that I've found the right place.

I saw immediately my best work goes here not there. Their servers exist to spread my ideas and bring them back here, leading the Brain Drain, leading the exodus away from shouting at each other towards talking to each other.

And trade value for value. Time for money.

Sort:  

I just started my steemit adventure a week ago im vlogging it weekly calling it my 10000 dollar steemit journey looking for interesting content such as this and plenty of followers to build the community please follow and ill follow back if you feel you have something interesting to share daily i upvote all comments on my post im trying to build a community to get everyone payed!

Go ahead and join the steeem chat channel #msp the minnowsupportproject. We're already ahead of you on this. It's a group designed by minnows to help minnows unite and grow.

Tag your posts msp and or minnowsupportproject, join the channel and build a network. Most importantly resteem people's best posts to keep them up in the trending portion of the site.

This is the first Social Media like platform that i have used at all.

Absolutely rght. If we use our other old style social media to bring our follwers there over to Steemit....they will realize it is so much better. Seed everthing you post out to Twitter, FB, Snachat, Instagram, pinterest, etc. Steemit can rule the world of socmed.

Believe me I have been, as well as promoting the platform and cryptos in general on my bi-weekly Periscopes.

Good point about not shouting at each other to talking to each other! I'm still getting the feel for what people are looking for in content. Quality will win out, but sometimes it takes awhile!

It absolutely will take a while. Be patient and bring your a-game, whatever that is. Authenticity is what wins in a meritocracy.

Outstanding post. Couldn't agree with you more about the quality of the other social media platforms. They simply pale in comparison to Steemit... the quality of the content is night and day. It will be fascinating to see how it looks in a year. Upvoted and thank you for a great post!

Thank you for the kind words and the support!

Hey, nice to hear you are digging Steemit. Also, it's cool that a steemit story post could get you that much attention on your social media endeavor. Keep up the good content and you will reap the benefits! Good job.

Thank you. I have to keep this up... write or die for me, in all of my professional capacities. And, honestly, I'm perfectly okay with that.

Oh man, I tried to upvote, but I missed the deadline. Sorry! Next time.

Every seconds I spend on Steemit is worth it, I know. Steemit reinvigorates what little sparks I may still have left in me. :)

It is a great thing to wake up in the morning and wonder what I'm going to write about today as opposed to wondering if I'm going to write something today.

And I have to write to survive. Not just here, but in other venues as well. And it is that discipline that makes it all worthwhile. Thanks for the comment

Never had any other social media accounts besides FB, and i was over thay BS a LOOOONG time ago. Thank god for Steemit!

Good post, resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42