The Day Scott Adams Made Me a Better WritersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

Scott Adams recently published a blog (http://blog.dilbert.com/post/127310496506/the-day-you-became-a-better-writer-2nd-look) and a video going over what will make you a better writer.

And, even for a professional like me, who knew most of these things, it was an invaluable 35 minutes.

The main points are:

  1. Simplify -- keep it direct, to the point.
  2. Active not Passive -- Active voice not Passive Voice
  3. Brevity is the soul of wit -- Oscar Wilde was right
  4. Grab 'em Early -- Titles, first lines are your 1st impression. Use them wisely
  5. Show Don't Tell -- be visual when you can
  6. Funny Keeps you Reading -- ...

Adams is a master communicator. He would say persuader. But, they amount to the same thing. Make your point. Get out. Move on to the next one.

As your skill improves you can deviate somewhat, but you have to be a ruthless editor. Since I put Scott on my shoulder like a sarcastic Iago my writing has improved immeasurably.

Set yourself word limits. I learned this writing my newsletter. I had to make my points in specific chunks. Otherwise, me editor would do it for me.

I used to have a one-page column in my newsletter called "Free Range"

I had 650-700 words to introduce my point, throw out a few zingers and end with an emotionally-satisfying ending. Thankfully, I only had to do that once a month. It's hard. But the results speak for themselves.

The only thing I would add to Scott's list is

  1. Pick a Role Model -- emulate the great ones.

The master of the 750 word political op-ed is Pat Buchanan. He's my goal in form, if not in content. It's a tall order. Pat is amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58