You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is it important to follow and upvote small accounts? - The key to a healthy community growth.

in #steemit7 years ago

And don't forget more lucrative. My last comment made me more money than all of my posts yesterday... and that is disheartening. But, keep going, and participate. Steemit is a social network that rewards quality over quantity, unlike twitter which is truly just the old shout-style advertising model because the engagement is so low.

To succeed you need tens of thousands to drive traffic to a monetary decision point. Here, all you have to do is write something good and your following is incentivized to promote it. Too many people here don't see that difference yet... but it's because of habit.

But, it'll come the more we change our habits and thinking... the changes to the reward system that is upcoming in Hard Fork 19 will help a lot as well.

Sort:  

Yes! This 10 ten times!
We all like Steemit because it gives us "a way out" or regular-shouting-meme-spamming social media. Quality here is well rewarded. Well, not everytime, and that is what this post is about, rewarding good quality without thinking of who wrote it but thinking about "this is a great post, ill upvote it".

We, as early users of this platform, have to draw the line where we want it. If we upvote spammy articles or quantity over quality then that is what we are going to get and in no time we will be like facebook (which I dont want) or Twitter, platforms that reward quantity over quality.

I put some of my initial thoughts on this subject in a post a few days ago that you may like.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldgoatsnguns/what-i-love-best-about-steem

I opened in another tab so I don´t forget, I for sure will read it today! Thanks

Do you know when Hard fork 19 is going to happen? The last one caught me off guard.

I don't. It was announced on the 23rd of May. No word that I've seen. The sooner the better for a minnow like me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43