My 2 week Steemit ExperiencesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So I've been on Steemit now for about 2 weeks, maybe a few days more. This is a wrap up of my experiences, what I've learnt, what I still don't understand as well as my thoughts on how I should be moving forward.


We'll start at the beginning, I was introduced to this platform by @ausbitbank, we were friends in High school so I trusted him not to be sprucing some scam crap.
I was given a couple of links and a 2 second run down and left to run free. Trust me, that s the best way to go for me, I'm not one to be babied in anything.

The thing I've liked straight away, is basically nobody knows me, I can say EVERYTHING I think with no judgement. Compared to Facebook etc where its filled by Leftie twats, my opinions are very moderate compared to other people, and that's awesome.

So at the end of 2 weeks, I'm sitting with the following stats.

Vests: 0.289M
SBD: $29.436
SP: 139.564
Followers: 92
Posts: 118
Total Value: $365.54

I feel, in my opinion this is a reasonable start. I'm getting a reward for my effort, and im not really wasting my time on useless ads and cat videos on Facebook.

So I've barely scratched the surface in this platform. But this is a summary of what I've learnt and what I need to improve.

  • You need to invest the time to get decent rewards
  • Its incredibly hit and miss. A 2 hours writting piece may only only earn a few dollars, where as a 2minute joke may earn hundreds.
  • Its not what you know, its who you know. If it wasn't for my previous relationship with @ausbitbank, I doubt i'd have been able to make the great start that I have so far. Thats not to say its impossible, but it definately makes a difference.
  • Even though you have a 7day window of opportunity to earn on a story, generally if you haven't made an impact within the first 2 hours its unlikely to improve.

What I'm still to learn

  • Timing matters, both on when to reply, resteem and upvote. I know it matters, I just haven't worked out the best time.
  • How to attracts more influential views.
  • How to access the value in my account when the time comes to actually use it.

So after a fairly successful 2 weeks, I'm most certainly going to continue on this path. Even though I have no aspirations or expectations of doing this for a living or being a top tier user, I do think this is a great way to earn some good project money and having my opinions heard.

My goals over the next 2 weeks to a month are as follows:

  • Have a total value of my account at over $2000
  • Have 500 Stories published
  • Have a working relationship with at least 2 whales.
  • Increase my reputation to over 60

If this is the kind of story that you'd like me continue to track the progress of just a standard user, then drop me a line and be sure to resteem.

Sort:  

Yep... That's pretty much it. It's all about who you know. There's so much content, and so many people who don't care about content, your information is literally a speck dropping in the middle of the ocean.

I have a similiar experience. @someguy123 was the one to get me into this. And honestly without his support, I'd have a 2 dollar introduction post rather than a 200 dollar one.

What I'm noticing, is that I'm spending 4+ hrs on articles, and they are just not getting views.

@mysterymerr put in hella effort on her introduction post, and has not broken past the 2 dollar mark.

Ah well, I'm just 4 days into this, I might actually be doing better than the average. But my expectations were definitely set incorrectly.

Good post. Hey there @ausbitbank!

@malicered Keep posting good content that you are passionate about and keep engaging people. The fact that you are willing to put time and energy into your posts earned a follow from me.

It will come.

Thanks for replying mate. Good points indeed.

I actually think that is a good start. Approx $730 value in 1 month if you duplicate your first 2 wks. The money will come, just enjoy getting paid to do what you enjoy. Good luck.

Take the time to learn it. Then live it. Always Steemit mate. Now that you have set obtainable goals, turn up the Steem and achieve them. Steem on.

I can help with timing.
In EST, about 10:30-11:30 am is prime posting time (I'm guessing it's because of all the West coasters checking when they wake up). Also, about 3-4 pm is a good second round.

These times are valid Monday through Thursday. I haven't figured out the weekend time slots yet.

awesome, thanks mate. I'll convert that to Australian and give it a trial

Happy to help

@gohba.handcraft Awesome post! We are pretty much on the same path although I opened my account in July last year and never touched it. @lukestokes turned me on to this and it has opened up my excitement into not just Steemit but all avenues of cryptocurrency.

I think those are great goals (I am going to take them on myself!) and it will be interesting to see where we both are in a couple weeks!

thanks mate. I'll follow along as well. Keep in contact.

Upvoted and following you. Good job on your start! I've been on here for a bit over a week. It is very enjoyable and yes beats the shit out of fb where everyone wants to cry about everything. Anyway, reading some of the comments to your post...for those of you not doing as well as you'd like, I'd suggest spend less time generating content and more time interacting with others and building a reputation. If you aren't ENJOYING yourself on here you're wasting your time. This isn't a get rich quick scheme or quit your 9-5 but it is something with longevity and can provide some serious cash if you truly participate in the community and learn, learn, learn!

Upvoted, not that you need it. I've had the same experiences with hit and miss posts, but you can get consistent earning posts if you find a niche your really good at, build a following, and just keep the quality consistent.

I know this because I woman on this platform doing just that with a cooking show.

Thanks mate. Thats exactly right. Find a niche, and a good crowd and it'll all be sweet.
Also, interact, interact, interact. Then once you done that, interact some more.

That is a very good start. You are on the right track
. Keep on Steeming.

it's true.. didn't know anybody 1
month.. best post got a $1.50 uhhh :)..

keen on it mate, it'll get better.

Congrats! Now I know im doing something wrong. Account worth 10 bucks after one week 🤣 Guess theres alot to learn. Keep steemin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45