Steemit's Largest Problem - Autovoting

in #steemit7 years ago

I've seen so many people complaining about flagging on Steemit, spam, votting bots, vote selling, etc. Very few people ever talk about the issues of autovoting and curation trails. I think this is the largest issue facing Steemit at this time.

banner-1165979_1280.png
SOURCE

Views

If you look at most if not all other ranking systems for online metrics views is either one or the top metric. In fact, a lot of time and money is spent to ensure those views are real. Just look at Twitch, YouTube, Alexa, and Instagram all put a focus on the number of views.

graph.png
SOURCE

Don't agree with me? I've seen plenty of top steemit users refer to Steemit's Alexa page ranking increase as a sign more money will soon come pouring into Steemit based on increased website ranking.

Screenshot_20171205-201016.jpg
SOURCE

Why Views are Important

Just think if you spent the last year, barely scraping by, to try and put together enough information and code to release an ICO. Why aren't these companies using Steemit to make these announcements. Currently, best case the announcement would be seen by a few thousand. I'm no expert, but I can't imagine an ad on YouTube seen by a few thousand people cost very much.

Now imagine what Steem would look like if some of the top accounts were getting hundreds of thousands to a million views. I think Steem over all would be a much better place.

crowd-1699137_1280.jpg
SOURCE

Autovoting Kills Interaction

It's a money printing machine and requires little to almost no effort from the individual and creates no value for the platform. This may not be a big drain today or a year from now, but if Steemit is going to have a sustainable future autovoters and curation trails should be evaluated.

Not only will this eventually drain the reward pool, but this kills retention of new users. If autovoters are set and forget new users will never receive any rewards. Comments and interaction on posts won't increase as fast or faster than new accounts.

children-593313_1280.jpg
SOURCE

The Solution

I don't know what the solution is. I have seen awesome suggestions by @sirknight to comment on 7 users a day. I have seen suggestions by @jackmiller to find 1 additional article to resteem a day. These ideas and movements is what will change Steem. This is what will retain existing users. This is what will bring in big money and huge, exclusive ICO announcements to the platform.

Sort:  

I haven't joined a curation trail since I do want to choose who I am voting for. but I have benefited from such a trail. I make way more than seven comments a day but seem to get most votes who actually increase the payout from curation trails or platform votes such as busy.
Seems to change that people with real voting power have to be on board with doing a lot of curation...

Seems to change that people with real voting power have to be on board with doing a lot of curation...

In my opinion, this is what is needed to ensure and increase the future success of Steemit.

I too have benefitted from the curation trails although, I am not on one. I like to select the post I am upvoting but, some days feel like I don't have enough time to do this. tip!

I don't have a real answer, but I see your point.

I've done all the above. It's the easy way to do it. I just needed to vent mostly and wanted to start a discussion.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78