Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Would you like to know which of the top upvoting bid bots give the maximum payout back to delegators because this will be useful the next time you have Steem Power you want to delegate for profit?

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This is a post that took me quite a long time to write because I had to collect a lot of data, calculate and analyze, so I can present you accurate figures for each of the top bots I looked at.

I originally did that selfishly for myself to know what my returns were for two upvoting bots I delegated to, @jerrybanfield and @tipu, which both say they have the highest payouts because the first one is giving back all curation rewards and the second one 60% of the curation rewards.

When I first delegated to @jerrybanfield my intention was to help fund Steem projects because the payout for delegators was only 50%, while the other 50% were used to fund projects. This has now changed to a ~ 110% according to this post: All In On Fundition.io + Budget Proposals Ending + Bot Delegator Payouts Increasing to ~110%!

In the contrary, I originally delegated to @tipu, which is a smaller bot, to get the maximum payout.

I decided to extend my research to other top bots as well to see if I was right to delegate to these two bots, and see if I had other better possibilities. It is what I am sharing with you today.

If you only want to read the results without the details on how I came up with them, go to the "Conclusion" section of this post.

UPDATE June 19, 2018: I know that the results I am presenting here upset some people, but I did my best to collect the data on a 7-day period and show my process and calculation that you can now use to do your own research. I did make a mistake missing one payment in Steem for @smartsteem and this has been corrected in the post accordingly. Some people make allegations that I faked the results in some way, ask questions, and then downvote my answer when they don't like it. If you want to read a reply from me in this post that has been downvoted and not visible, would you just click the button to view it, or maybe upvote it to make it visible and support freedom of speech as I do? Before delegating to any of these bots I advise you to do your own calculations because this post is not intended to give investment advices.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

Let's have a look first at the top upvoting bots I decided to look at.

I went to https://steembottracker.com and started to collect data for the bots having more than $60 in vote value.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

The data was collected on June 2, 2018, and as the value of STEEM and SBD is always changing, these values will be different if you look at them today. However, all the data in this post was collected on the same day, so it can be fairly compared.

I made this table and I sorted the bots by "Vote Value,"

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

The bot with the highest vote value is @postpromoter and the lowest vote value is @sneaky-ninja.

@tipu is a guest bot in that study because it's not even a bid bot.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

I wanted to know for this one as well because I have 400 SP with them, this might be useful for you. It has the lowest vote value of all.

The next step was to know more about delegators, SP and VESTS delegated, and if they are open to delegations.

I used this tool for each of them: https://helloacm.com/tools/steemit/delegators/

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This gave me the number of delegators, the amount of SP and VESTS delegated for each bot.

This also showed me that certain bots have very few delegators.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

I have marked @buildawhale, @rocky1, @booster and @sneaky-ninja as "Private delegators" because I see nowhere how to delegate to them and it seems that they are own by people who can do without our delegation.

We are left with 10 upvote bots that we can delegate Steem Power to, and that I used in my case study.

My process to collect data and calculations

Instead of looking at what each upvoting bid bot is advertising for their delegators, 50%, 80%, 90%, 95% or 100% daily payouts with or without reward sharing, information which is not even easy to find for some of them, I decided to just look at the wallet of one delegator for each bot and see what they earned in a 7-day period according to their delegation in Steem Power.

For example, I went to https://steemworld.org/@postpromoter and clicked on the "Delegation (In)" tab. There, you can see who the delegators are and what amount of SP they have delegated.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

I chose one delegator in the list with more than a thousand SP and went to their wallet to collect data for a 7-day period.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

Some upvoting bots pay SBD and STEEM daily, some pay only SBD, and one pays several times per day. I collected all this data in a spreadsheet and as every delegator has a different amount of SP delegated, I calculated an equivalent for 1,000 SP for every bot.

This is how I collected the data in a spreadsheet.

In this case we had daily payouts in STEEM and SBD.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

If the delegation is 2,500 SP, and the payout for 7 days is 16 SBD, I have the following for 1,000 SP:

16 ÷ 2,500 x 1,000 = 6.4 SBD (for 7 days)

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

The payout is different each day because it depends on the bids users made, and having a value for 7 days makes a good average.

I then calculated the revenue for one day like this:

6.4 ÷ 7 = 0.914 SBD

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

I did the same thing with payouts in STEEM.

I then multiplied the daily value with 1,000 SP delegated by 365 days for payouts in SBD and STEEM. This assumes that the average payout will stay the same for a year.

0.914 x 365 = 333.714 SBD

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

Finally, I divided the SBD value by 1.3, which is the current rate of exchange, and added it to the STEEM, so I could have a final value in STEEM and calculate the final APR.

29.513 + (333.714 ÷ 1.3) = 286.216 STEEM

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

286.216 ÷ 1,000 x 100 = 29% APR (rounded up)

I hope that this helps understanding all the calculations I made in this case study.

The bid bots data and calculations

Ordered by "Vote Value" for the case study.

1) @postpromoter

The first bid bot is @postpromoter and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has everyday payouts in STEEM and SBD.

I picked delegator @zoom with 7,541 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 1.696 STEEM and 40.928 SBD.

For 1,000 SP this gives us 0.225 STEEM and 5.427 SBD for 7 days, 0.032 STEEM and 0.775 SBD for one day, 11.727 STEEM and 283.000 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 229.419 STEEM per year.

The APR is 23%.

2) @appreciator

The second bid bot is @appreciator and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has everyday payouts in STEEM and SBD.

I picked delegator @btcmillionaire with 5,008 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 0.775 STEEM and 29.486 SBD.

For 1,000 SP this gives us 0.155 STEEM and 5.888 SBD for 7 days, 0.022 STEEM and 0.841 SBD for one day, 8.069 STEEM and 307.006 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 244.227 STEEM per year.

The APR is 24%.

3) @smartsteem

The third bid bot is @smartsteem and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has everyday payouts in SBD and STEEM on some days

I picked delegator @thally with 1,000 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 0.315 STEEM and 6.765 SBD.

We already have 1,000 SP and this gives us 0.045 STEEM and 0.966 SBD for one day, 16.425 STEEM and 352.746 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 287.768 STEEM per year.

The APR is 29%.

4) @upme

The fourth bid bot is @upme and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has everyday payouts in STEEM and SBD.

I picked delegator @arama with 21,406 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 8.019 STEEM and 117.317 SBD.

For 1,000 SP this gives us 0.375 STEEM and 5.481 SBD for 7 days, 0.054 STEEM and 0.783 SBD for one day, 19.533 STEEM and 285.772 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 239.358 STEEM per year.

The APR is 24%.

5) @therising

The fifth bid bot is @therising and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has payouts in STEEM on some days and everyday payouts in SBD.

I picked delegator @henry-gant with 4,005 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 1.295 STEEM and 25.001 SBD.

For 1,000 SP this gives us 0.323 STEEM and 6.242 SBD for 7 days, 0.046 STEEM and 0.892 SBD for one day, 16.860 STEEM and 325.499 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 267.244 STEEM per year.

The APR is 27%.

6) @promobot

The sixth bid bot is @promobot and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has everyday payouts in STEEM and SBD.

I picked delegator @equibyte with 2,134 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 1.237 STEEM and 10.69 SBD.

For 1,000 SP this gives us 0.580 STEEM and 5.009 SBD for 7 days, 0.083 STEEM and 0.716 SBD for one day, 30.225 STEEM and 261.203 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 231.151 STEEM per year.

The APR is 23%.

7) @upmewhale

The seventh bid bot is @upmewhale and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has everyday payouts in STEEM and SBD.

I picked delegator @cryptoiceman with 10,607 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 2.954 STEEM and 67.173 SBD.

For 1,000 SP this gives us 0.278 STEEM and 6.333 SBD for 7 days, 0.040 STEEM and 0.905 SBD for one day, 14.522 STEEM and 330.215 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 268.533 STEEM per year.

The APR is 27%.

8) @boomerang

The eighth bid bot is @boomerang and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has several payouts per day in STEEM and SBD.

I picked delegator @malonmar with 3,000 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 1.791 STEEM and 15.964 SBD.

I had to collect all data day by day for this bid bot and payments in STEEM are quite irregular.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

For 1,000 SP this gives us 0.597 STEEM and 5.321 SBD for 7 days, 0.085 STEEM and 0.760 SBD for one day, 31.129 STEEM and 277.470 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 244.567 STEEM per year.

The APR is 24%.

9) @jerrybanfield

The ninth bid bot is @jerrybanfield and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has everyday payouts in STEEM and SBD with a bigger STEEM payout once a week that includes rewards.

I picked delegator @gmichelbkk (myself) with 2,500 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 4.412 STEEM and 16.248 SBD.

For 1,000 SP this gives us 1.765 STEEM and 6.499 SBD for 7 days, 0.252 STEEM and 0.928 SBD for one day, 92.022 STEEM and 338.887 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 352.704 STEEM per year.

The APR is 35%.

10) @tipu

The tenth bid bot is @tipu and this is the table.

Case Study: Which Top Upvoting Bots to Delegate to for the Highest Daily Payout?

This bid bot has everyday payouts in STEEM and SBD.

I picked delegator @gmichelbkk (myself) with 400 SP delegated and the revenue for 7 days was 0.246 STEEM and 2.309 SBD.

For 1,000 SP this gives us 0.615 STEEM and 5.773 SBD for 7 days, 0.088 STEEM and 0.825 SBD for one day, 32.068 STEEM and 300.995 SBD for one year, which equals to a total of 263.602 STEEM per year.

The APR is 26%.

Conclusion

This last table shows the payout in STEEM for one year and the APR for each bot if you delegated 1,000 SP.

RANKBOT NAMEVOTE VALUETOTAL STEEM/YEARAPR
1@jerrybanfield$82.99352.70435%
2@smartsteem$473.51287.76829%
3@upmewhale$109.27268.53327%
4@therising$194.54267.24427%
5@tipu$48.68263.60226%
6@boomerang$96.40244.56724%
7@appreciator$599.11244.22724%
8@upme$325.84239.35824%
9@promobot$190.21231.15123%
10@postpromoter$603.14229.41923%

There is a clear winner here for delegating Steem Power if your goal is to make the maximum profit.

The @jerrybanfield bid bot is the top bid bot for delegators with a 35% APR.

The @smartsteem bid bot is second for delegators with a 29% APR.

The @upmewhale and @therising bid bots both are third for delegators with a 27% APR.

The @tipu bot is fifth for delegators with a 26% APR.

The other bid bots have a 22% to 24% APR.

Now, you may prefer to delegate to bots with a lower APR if your goal is not to make the highest profit, but participate in whatever community projects they may have, that is up to you.

I hope that this case study is useful for you to decide which bid bots to delegate to for maximum profit.

Would you upvote this post and follow me for more because this will encourage me to write more Steem case studies like this one?

Michel Gerard

www.michelgerardonline.com

Sort:  

Would you please help @jerrybanfield become a top 10 Witness because he is in my opinion the witness who gives the most back to the community?

Absolutely fucking not.

Gives the most back? Have you lost your damn mind, or are you just a paid Jerry shill? Jerry Banfield is a charlatan who does nothing but try to scheme and scam for more money. And he does this by intentionally fudging the math and pretending to be ignorant about other services and/or information that’s readily available. He has done this repeatedly...and not just on this platform.

I would encourage all users and investors to stop supporting Jerry and anyone who sings his praises. He is not doing you or your investment any favors by continually lying, scheming, and scamming...and looking like a complete jackass while doing it.

Would you upvote this post and follow me for more because this will encourage me to write more Steem case studies like this one?

No. I actually downvoted instead and will downvote any posts like this in the future. And you may want to check your numbers again, as others have already pointed out. It’s one thing to ignorantly praise someone. But it’s completely different to purposely misrepresent them and provide inaccurate or knowingly false data in order to seek or give investment advice/information.

If I were you, I’d be very careful about doing the latter.

Thank you very much @ats-david for commenting, giving me a downvote showing your disapproval and an upvote of around the same amount for this comment so I can see it.

I understand why inviting people to vote for Jerry as a witness at the bottom of this post may be misunderstood and I have removed it. Thank you for helping me see this.

I am not interested in Steemit politics and this study does not reflect if I like or not the bot owner. I did have one error that I corrected, accurate data is what I want the most because I selfishly did that study for myself.

If you are not satisfied with the results, I invite you to take as much time as I did to make your own research and publish it. I will be happy to upvote it as much as I have been upvoting your comment here.

I also invite everyone to do their own calculations for the bots they are considering delegating to before delegating.

I see some Jerry's style in this post:

Would you upvote this post and follow me for more because this will encourage me to write more Steem case studies like this one?

Thank you for bidding! Will you please add me to your witness votes or set me as a proxy at https://steemit.com/~witnesses because this will help us increase the value of Steem together?

wow, what an angry profane response! Such bad language!
Even if you were right -which I don't know - there should be more appropriate ways to communicate

Cool story, bro.

@gmichelbkk - This is all very good information, but I think delegators need to seriously consider not only the returns offered by various bots, but also what type of content those bots are upvoting.

Some of the bots which are lower down on your list have lower returns because they are much more aggressive in blacklisting abusers and have settings that help prevent spam.

Blacklists are typically not public, but before delegating to a bot I would ask them about their blacklist. Many on the top of the payout list have none, or very very small ones. Additionally it's important to look at the minimum post age allowed, which is published on https://steembottracker.com.

Bots that allow posts to be upvoted at less than 20 minutes open the door to lots of spam as users can just wait until the bot is about to vote before they post so that they can earn a large return by avoiding having any curation rewards taken out of the vote value.

There's a new site http://isteemd.com which does a good job of incorporating these factors as well as many others when determining which bots to delegate Steem Power to.

Thank you @yabapmatt for your comment. Yes, I agree that returns is not the only point to consider and that's why I got started with only 50% returns so the other 50% could be used to finance projects on Steem. I liked that option better. That's also why I delegate to other communities.

This case study is not intended to say which bot people should delegate to according to how they are set-up, with spam lists or not, but to show the facts with data collected on the same days for all.

This encourages comments like yours to explain that there are other factors as well to consider when delegating or using bots.

Thank you for mentioning the new site, which I will look at.

My experience with @jerrybanfield was that it was paying the lowest, while @tipu is the best (though I didn't delegate to tipu , but I have seen my friends are getting good returns)

@monajam, thank you for commenting. I am delegating to both of them in addition to other communities. I think diversification is a good idea.

Interesting! You have delegated to these 5

Never heard of @silvergoldbotty

Thank you for checking out my delegations. @silvergoldbotty is a community bot that upvote your quality posts according to your delegation once a day.

Thanks for mentioning @tipU :) I guess that picking one day may be risky because there's fluctuations between payouts each day but this method is perfectly understandable, taking how much work it needs :)

One of the better ways to compare profitability is:

  1. go to https://www.steemdesk.com/
  2. type in user @lavater (top right corner)
  3. go to delegations -> current

You can check total amount of payouts and APR for many bots because @lavater delegated exactly 1000 SP to 8 of them :) Current results for 40 last days:

bot - APR:
appreciator - 18.90 %
boomerang - 27.04 %
jerrybanfield - 19.77 %
postpromoter - 23.31 %
smartsteem - 22.18 %
therising - 25.90 %
tipu - 26.70 %
upmewhale - 25.87 %

1.png
(right click -> show image)

It seems that Jerry's bot had a really good day when you took the data ;)

Thank you for your comment @cardboard, but I took the data on seven days to make an average of the low and highs, not one day.

Thank you very much also for showing me this site, this is interesting. I still prefer to do the calculations myself because I am sure data is collected on the same period for all bots.

The screenshot shows delegations that start at different days, and days delegated are not the same, some with 40 and some with 10 or 23. This can't be compared in my opinion.

I agree that during the time frame I chose some bots may have had a bad day or a good day making the results as they are.

I may do that again in a month and see how it goes.

Sorry, had to misunderstand something.

The formula for APR displayed in the screenshot takes into account the amount of days delegated but I agree, the best way is to calculate it by yourself :)

Delegate to small bots they gives better ROI big bots has many competition. @flymehigh giving good try out. If you delegates and promote it will upvote you.

Thank you @atishdarpel for your feedback, and suggesting a small bot. I may write another case study taking in consideration smaller bots as you say.

I am going to make this statement once.

I was a delagator to JerryBanfield when I saw the 36% return rate CLAIM.

I have seen the fact that you and he cross promote.

4 months ago I was tracking and calculating my return for 3 weeks at no time was that the rate was not even CLOSE TO 24% AT SIMPLE INTEREST.

I have seen him make a claim to reduce his return rates multiple times and now over the last couple of weeks he said he is closing his bot and undelegating all the the SP and closing the Bot Down.

And now he opens a new one with no return guaranties because if a "bot misses a vote after at least six hours from sending the bid", "visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ for help in discord!"

RECHARGE CYCLE TIME IS UNDER 3 HRS.

SO AT MINIMUM HE IS ASKING TO MOVE THE BIDS BETWEEN PERIODS TO MAXIMIZE PROFITS,
WHICH IS NOT A BID BOT

OR WORSE if you don't get your bid from banfield's bot...you might think you have because of other upvotes, and because he did not AUTOMATICALLY REFUND, you may lose your money because you did not contact him through a second non-steemit platform.
ESSENTIALLY GAMING PEOPLE, TAKING MONEY AND HOPING THEY DO NOT RESPOND ON A DISCORD CHANNEL.

Thank you very much @richatvns for saying this only once. The numbers in my case study are the numbers for a given week for all bots so they can be compared. This is because of claims like you say from different bots that I decided to see by myself in the delegators' wallets what exactly the get.

You should also probably be clear that you delegate to Jerry so have a vested interest in seeing him grow in strength as a witness and bot owner..

Thank you for your comment @mazzle. It is perfectly clear because in the post I say that the calculation for his bot are made using my own payouts. I could have picked another user, but I wanted to see for my own delegation, and me delegating to him or not has nothing to do with the results of the study because I delegate even more to other bots.

please do another study for one month data

I agree that this would be great @steemero, but a lot of work. I will think about it.

I must have misread that part. My bad.

Your post mainly bothers me since you're calling for witness votes to Jerry in all of your posts. Jerry is well known for being a bad egg on this platform so it's concerning to see someone post something that makes it seem as if he does good for Steemit. He doesn't and is only here for his own benefit. Do some research.

I am glad that you feel this thread is a safe place to voice your opinion. Me voting for Jerry as a witness together with 7,000 plus other users on Steem, I believe, has nothing to do with the results of the study. You have the right to your opinion as I have the right to mine. Thank you again @mazzle for making the discussion interesting.

Nice
I like your style .. for more creativity
Thanks for sharing..

Thank you very much @slimanepro, I am glad that you like my style.

No. Please don't.
Here's Why I won't support Jerry Banfield anymore written by @meno.

Jerry's bot is subject to change at anytime without notice. It has only been running at that APR for a short period of time. Also, during that time he converted to JBC and did not payout for a few days before he relaunched the bot and cancelled JBC.

Thank you @fow for your comment and I agree that APR can change for all bots in a given period of time. It all depends on bot usage, value of Steem and SBD, etcetera. I may write a second post in a month's time to see how it goes or you might write your own.

This post is not a question of supporting anyone and I am not interested to read posts and comments on Steem that attacks others. My case study shows the fact for a week period and that's all.

This is very interesting and informative.

I am glad that you like it @amnasahar.

Very insightful indeed. May likely just go with delegating my SP soon if the APRs are really that high. Thanks.

Thank you for your comment @mawit07, I am glad this is useful. Even for the lower APRs it is still pretty good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60