Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 06 : Chayote Spaghetti in Hibiscus Flowers Sauce

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Today's recipe is my second entry in steemit iron-chef and it's called Chayote Spaghetti in Hibiscus Flowers Sauce.
A very refreshing and light recipe that could be used as an entry or for people who consume animal protein is also a good option
Let's see what are the main ingredients that I will use and what is the story

The Chayote
Was used edible from the southern part of Mexico to Guatemala today it is produced in many countries including the USA and in Mexico it is produced in 6 states Chiapas, Michoacán, State of Mexico, Nayarit, Jalisco and Veracruz

The Hibiscus flower
is very popular all over the world now because it is found in tea boxes. It is native to Africa only because of its great medicinal properties in Mexico it grows very well and there are very large planting places in very hot climates like the state of Guerrero even in Veracruz.

This is the recipe for Chayote spaghetti in hibiscus flower sauce

Ingredients

2 chayotes
1/4 cup of hibiscus flower
2 cups of water
1/4 cup of hibiscus tea
dried chiles like chile de arbol
to taste
2 cloves of garlic
1 Shallot or small onion
a teaspoon of honey
2 tablespoons Olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Steps
I boiled the hibiscus flowers in 2 cups of water and once warm, the flowers were taken out in a colander and the tea water was reserved for later.
The chayote is cut into long strips and I use the Nutri veggie appliance to make the chayote spaghetti.
On a cutting board finely chop the Shallot and garlic cloves and dehydrated chile de arbol
In a frying pan over medium heat with oil add this mixture and after a few minutes that the Shallot or onion is transparent,

add the hibiscus flowers and leave a few more minutes to add salt and pepper to taste and add the tea.
of the flower and the mixture is stirred and the honey is added and at the end, the chayote spaghetti is added, stirring, tasting and being covered and leaving only a few minutes more. The texture of the spaghetti should be crispy or as the Italians said al dente.

I made this pasta for myself and I made a few pieces of chicken apart that just season with salt and garlic and roast them in another frying pan and in the end I put the meat in the spaghetti to give flavor to the meat this dish was for my husband and I He said he liked the taste very much.

This is the proof of my recipe for Chayote Spaghetti with Hibiscus flower sauce and with the tea that I left I made a refreshing Hibiscus Flower drink.

Bon appétit!

@gladysstillwagon

Sort:  

Congratulations @gladysstillwagon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 04:43:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 445.90/200.00
Total Photos: 77
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

Thank you @jerrybanfield
Have a nice day!!!

Mom this recipe looks absolutely delicious. You are so good in the cook

It is a delicious and very refreshing recipe in addition to low calorie and nutritious
Have a nice day my dear Denisse

Delicious .... I have been having major issues finding a product within fruits and veggies that is native to Denmark ... but I think I finally got a bit closer ... in this challenge I wish I lived in a more exotic region with more fruits and veggies hihi

Maria I am reading your comment and I realize that indeed for me who grew up in a country like Mexico, finding all kinds of vegetables and fruits is normal and cheap.
And the 2 recipes that I made are just a sample of more products that can be found to make more recipe with products of origin and I tell you a sorbet of Tequila that is the most delicious and is like making a margarita just that you do sorbet and Tequila is the main product of origin of Mexico that is that nobody in the world can reproduce the drink called Tequila only Mexico so I give you a clue that Denmark may have a product like that and it can be used in a recipe.
Have a nice day Maria

I sometimes make hibiscus sugar-syrup for cocktails and I always buy the dried blossoms at a Mexican market -- I just assumed they were Latin. Funny that they're native to Africa.

You have reason to think that these tasty flowers were Mexican, because the flowers were forever in Mexico and the production of the flowers of "Jamaica" in Mexico is very large and the use in the food is the same now with the innovation and fusion of the Mexican food.
As this recipe I did if you remove the chayote you can make the filling for tacos yesss! Hibiscus flower tacos and they are exquisite.
Have a nice day @clweeks

I would like to try that! I like Hibiscus flowers and their relatives, too, like the Rose-of-Sharon and Hollyhocks. I really thought those were noodles at first! That pink is great for Valentine's Day or even Easter-time. :D

Of course there are recipes with roses that would have to be organic now that you mention it I have made a recipe with the roses, what if I remember that recipe if it is made with meat in this case quail, I did it many years ago, and the Taste is as delicate as you say it is a Valentine's recipe.
I hope you make this recipe delicious and without the spaghetti chayote, you can use the flowers made as tacos with a corn tortilla.
Thanks for your comment carita de complicidad.jpg
Have a nice night

It is amazing to see how the chayote got that lovely pink color of the hibiscus! Chayotes are actually quite famous in my country too and I love doing dumplings with them!
You came up with a very creative entry again my friend!
Thanks so much!

It gives me great pleasure to hear that the healthy chayote is so international, in Mexico, it is a vegetable that is part of many dishes of traditional Mexican food.
And if the color looks beautiful with the flower of Jamaica, it is said in Mexico.
Thank you very much, Chef for your nice comment and I tell you I love creating new things in the kitchen.
Have a beautiful night @progressivechef carita de complicidad.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67368.20
ETH 2618.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68