You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giving Up Facebook For Good

in #steemit7 years ago

If I could upvote you twice, I would. Steemit will liberate us all from being data slaves to centralized social media platforms.

This is just the beginning. Facebook was super clean and simple when it started. It didn't have news feeds or any of the other features it has today. The hope is that Steemit evolves and creates ways to manage its various ecosystems so communities can be free to fragment and decentralize without splitting off completely.

Hope to see you still posting in a few years man.

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment! Yeah I remember the early days on FB, it was kind of cool back then had that "this is new and cool feel". I am certainly keen to see the evolution of Steemit and I suspect I will be here in a few years too!

Like you and @gimperion said, Facebook's initial popularity was because it used to be genuine. I think that's where Facebook completely lost its value. Nowadays everyone is falling for fake viral videos made by advertisers and paid-for featured news stories. All of its users' private information is being sold and manipulated to be used against them in a vicious cycle that rewards no one but the fatcats running the show. What a toxic environment!!

A bit of a rant there but hey, that's why we're here. Steemit exists because we're all fed up with that system. Totally hopeful for the future of Steem for that reason. :)

That was a good rant though! Agreed! It is a toxic environment which is why I feel like I stopped wanting to participate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64