Please DO NOT UPVOTE ME Unless ...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Attention - You May Be Upvoting For A Loss 😢



Important Update: It seems the amount we need to be focusing on is 0.03C not 0.02C because of the way posts are paid out. To read more about this I recommend @thedarkhorse's post


Firstly let me say I really love and appreciate all the upvotes you lovely Steemians give me on my posts and comments.



I do not want you to stop but I feel it might be better for you if you did, or at least adjusted you behaviour, and it's only fair that I pass that information on to you.

Let me explain . . .

I found out this week, thanks to @fullcoverbetting, that if the pay-out for a post or comment is not worth at least 0.02C it gets nullified, which basically means I don't get paid anything but you've lost some of you Voting Power.

It's called the [Dust Threshold](https://steemit.com/@fullcoverbetting/dust-threshold-still-learning-about-the-steem-ecosystem). (If you'd like to read @fullcoverbetting's full article you can do so by clicking on the link.)

When you vote on my posts this shouldn't be a problem because they usually reach more than 0.02C total before payout. So even if your upvote is only worth 0.001C it will still be added to the total.

It's a different situation with comments as they often only get the one upvote. In that case, if you're the only person who upvotes my comment and you upvote it for less than 0.02C, you are, to all intents and purposes, wasting your voting power. Your VP will be depleted and I will get no benefit from the vote.




It's just the way the system is set up at present and I'm very surprised that this has not been talked about much before. I'd certainly never heard about it until this week.

Knowing this, I have now adjusted my voting behaviour.

Now, whether you adjust yours or not is up to you, of course, but let's look at some different scenarios.



At the current price of Steem you need about 90 SP in order for your vote to be worth 0.02C at 100%. So if your SP is less than that there's nothing you can do at the moment, so you might as well vote to show your appreciation as much as you like.

You can play around with the relationship between SP and VP at Steemworld.org.

If, however, you do have a vote that is worth more than 0.02C then you might want to think about how you use it.

If you post on busy.org you can use a voting slider, no matter what your SP. On steemit.com you have to wait until you have >500 SP before you get the slider. In my opinion it's worth posting on Busy because if you use a voting slider you have more options. Plus if you use the "busy" tag you will get an upvote from them although some conditions apply.

My strategy, at the moment is to vote on fewer comments making sure the value is at least 0.02C or else voting at 1% as a show of appreciation. That way I can make more of my votes count whilst still spreading votes around to as many people as possible.

Let me know if you have any questions and I will try and answer them. 😍

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

P.S. If the formatting is rubbish, please forgive me. I have, once again, spent hours trying to get it right and I've had enough. This is as good as it's going to get!

Sort:  

I heard of this the first time last week myself, through a post by a witness who was pondering if that threshold should be raised even higher! To more like .10 or even .25! Needless to say I expressed the minnow POV on that one!

Now I've been careful to give everyone at least a .02 upvote when they comment on my posts, which I can do because I bought delegated SP a while back. And since I don't have that much time to read online these days with the house sale and relocation in progress, I don't tend to run out of VP these days even upvoting every genuine comment. But I have changed my behavior in one way.

I've started upvoting my own comments! If I get .01 from someone, I add at least another .01 with my own upvote, so that I can get a payout like they intended for me. I normally have a 25% self-vote target to make good on my delegated SP investment, but I don't even consider this sort of upvoting a part of that, because the other person is trying to pay you and simply lacks the power, especially if they are giving you a 100% vote but don't have 80 SP.

BTW, I think your formatting is great. How do you do the centering?

That's an interesting perspective @indigoocean. I'm not going to upvote my own comments at the moment but will be adding a comment letting the person know that I won't get paid, they are draining their VP and then directing them to my article.

I read that post which suggested raising the threshold to .10 or even .25. It just goes to show how many of the more established people have no real understanding of what it's like to be trying to make your way nowadays. I find it mind boggling actually, and more than a little disheartening, that a witness can be so out of touch.

With regard centering you use < center>write the text you want to center and then end with < /center>. You need to remove the space after the <. I had to put that in there so it wouldn't center the text and hide the tags.

I hope the relocation is going well. 😁

So this is a live demonstration of the problems with managing the Dust threshold. I upvoted your comment at more than 0.02c but when I came back here to reply to a different comment it had dropped to 0.01c What a total pain in the ass this is! Grrrrrr!

Yes, the price of steem seems to be dropping right now. It is very difficult to work those thresholds. As promised though, I added my own upvote to push it over .02, so no worries 😀

I will still upvote whichever ones I like to show appreciation for any comment or post. As long as my voting power is not too low. Otherwise I can't upvote but I will comment around. 😂

Thanks for adding to the conversation @artgirl.

It's not made a difference to my commenting either. I still do as much of that but I prefer to make my vote count financially as well. Just my preference. Primarily, I wanted to get the word out to those that weren't aware of this which turned out to be most of us. 😁

I think they're just making a big deal out of it. If our vote is dust then might as well use it to show appreciation to other people's posts. I dunno. It's just how I see it. 😁

What matters is we get big upvotes from those with big upvotes or just join contests so we can get a bigger SBD than upvotes in case we win some.

Thank you so much Gillian for the info, very useful stuff. There's so much to learn!
Hope you'r having a nice week, don't ask about mine's lol
Steem on and have fun...

Oh dear @drakernoise. I hope your "stuff" gets sorted out soon. I have noticed your absence. 😢

Glad the information was helpful. I'm trying to spread it around as much as possible. It seems a shame that so many of us are wasting our voting power without realising it.

Thanks for the resteem. Hopefully that will reach a few more people as well!

Hope today is a better day for you! 💙

We've changed our work time schedule so I'm off work too late now which leaves me less free time than before. If you add more working load and my personal fixed duties you have "the perfect storm"...
It will go worst as we get into summer time.
Hope you can forgive me, I'm trying my best thougt :)

There's nothing to forgive as far as I'm concerned @drakernoise. It just's a shame that you're not around as much because you seemed to be enjoying yourself.

Please don't add any extra pressure on yourself feeling any obligation towards me. I understand life gets in the way for all of us. I just hope that you will find yourself with more time to do what you love (whatever that is) in the not too distant future. 💙

It was good and clear enough!

Excellent @fullcoverbetting. Thank you for the feedback and for the heads up about the Dust Threshold. Can you see what I have done wrong with the link to you post? It looks formatted correctly to me.

Dust Threshold.
Strange I did just copy past it from your post and in the comment it does show ok.
So, no clue at all what went wrong!

It showed like that in the post no matter what I did. I even deleted it and did it overa few times and tried it on Steemit but no matter what I did I couldn't get it to render properly. Thanks for trying!

No prob! I wish that I could say what was wrong, but didn't find anything wrong :(

Here you go! Always something new to learn! Thank you!

I'm really glad to have learned about this - up until last week I upvoted comments a token amount without thinking. I've adjusted my habits! Thanks for spreading the word! It's a good thing to be aware of.

Me too @walkerland. I'm just surprised that's it's taken so long to start doing the rounds. Thanks for visiting! 😊

I agree with your strategy. There's voting for good content and then there's tokens of esteem, or what I might call rewards for engagement. The latter can be smaller because we're just trying to show some gratitude.

This has been the hot topic for sure these past several days.

My strategy not's working as well as I'd hoped @glenabrethsen although that might be partly due to my little experiment yesterday. 😂

I need to get my VP back close to 100 again and then work it out from there.

ALways good to share the news- whether good or not. The more we know, the better the platform can get.

Yep. The more "little" people who know about it, the better as far as I'm concerned! Thanks for visiting @Goldendawne. 😊

Thanks for sharing this good info Gill.

You're welcome @world-travel-pro. The more people who know, the better as far as I'm concerned! 😁

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43