You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemit... You Down With OPC? (Other People's Content) | What type of content should be posted on Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

If we're trying to replace the other social networks, then it has to permitted. It’s a normal activity to share content that you enjoy.

There’s a lotta debate over the details, though. Plenty of double standards, too.

What you can do (or get away with) likely comes down to your status in the community. Wealth, followers, friends, seniority.

Just like in RL!

Sort:  

I forget if it was this post or the guys who I resteemed but I made a comment that someone had posted a Mike Rowe independence day speech I really enjoyed and would have never seen had he not posted it so I definately find value in that.

I think personally speaking to get my upvote someone at least needs to add some commentary about why they thought that content was worth reposting. If they simply paste in a New York Times article or Youtube video with no context or no opinion of their own I'm probably not going to upvote it

Everyone develops a keen sense for spam on Steemit. It’s definitely wise to dress up a YT embed with a personal blurb. Same goes for images, relaying news events, etc.

I’m sure as a YTer, you realize how important title/thumb/first line is in the feed. I think it’s critical to start there for signaling “this isn’t spam”. The savvy veterans here work a Steemit logo into everything (incl. clothing and coffee mugs!).

Hey gigafart thanks for the comment buddy. Yeah I kind of got the sense that Steemit is like Reddit in that spam isn't looked upon favorably and that the site kind of polices itself.

I gotta up my thumnail game. On Youtube I use tubebuddy to make my thumbs so I'll have to find some program or something for here. I play around with Canva but I'm not really crazy about their fonts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67