How to Make an Effective Steemit Introduction Post

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Dozens of new Steemit users have emailed me their introduction posts to get my help on improving them. All of the drafts I received have one thing in common - one serious mistake. Here's what it is and how to fix it.

Almost a year ago, I created a definitive introduction to Steemit. It didn’t get much attention at first, but in the last few months the 47-minute video blew through 20,000 views on YouTube, it’s garnered me about 700 new YouTube subscribers and a couple hundred Steemit followers.

As part of the video (and accompanying text), I offered to review new Steemit users’ introduction post and offer constructive feedback — free.

A lot of you took me up on that offer. And all of your drafts had one serious mistake in common.

Here's what it is and how to fix it.

Bare Organics.jpg

Sort:  

Good to see you again with something about introduction post. Your videos have been great help for me.

Glad to hear you've found something useful in my videos. :)

Glad to see your back :-)
You vanished soon after your post inspired me to signup, I was worried ;-)

Thanks, glad to hear my post was of some use to you. :)

It's been a while , I'am glad to see you again !

Welcome back. Totally right on, the best posters here are true content creators operating with a business mindset.

But nevertheless I will share a tip I see more and more common recently, and that is: Don't forget to reference Jeff Berwick and/or The Dollar Vigilante numerous times in your post, and emphasize how you have now found the truth by joining Steemit.

LOL. Insert cry react here.

😢

I watched the 47minute start up video. It was very helpful. The steemitimg site for uploading pics doesn't seem to work, FYI. What do you think of my latest topic?
https://steemit.com/life/@streetstruck/the-kobe-30-day-challenge

Good to have you back in steemit.
I joined after you went on your hiatus, and when I found about you, and your presence here, I did not hit the follow button due to your long inactivity, but now, once I see you're back, I hit it.
Too late for me to upvote the vast majority of your posts, and my vote makes very little difference anyway (I do try to make some off good curation) ,
but I hope to be on time next time.

@georgedonnelly thank you for your honesty! Finally somebody who isn't afraid to tell it like it is. I'm here on Steemit for 60 days and it's stillma bit difficult and sometimes I do feel lost. But saw your video on youtube....the long one :p .....but this one has more honesty in it. Tnx!

Very genuine! Thank you!

Thank you for this video! I started with Steem a month or so ago because my husband got into the cryptocurrency world and I was blogging on wordpress. He suggested I check this out. Well I did and just started blogging without doing research (silly me). I just watched your Everything You Need to know about Steem and it was exactly what I needed!!! Thank you! I hope it's not too late to make an introduction post. I feel like my current posts have been informative, but now I can let people know who I am and what I am here to help them with. Again, thank you!

It's good. I want to post my intro post it would be a good help. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44