Sort:  

I agree, replying is a show of a good manners and etiquette. I try to reply to all the comments made. But upvoting should be left to get the comments you think are exceptionally good to the top of the list.

I saw his comment on another post and thought that it amounted to begging and was in itself bad etiquette. I think you have summed up the situation well as I see it. I have seen one author that doesn't seem to upvote any comments and I find that odd, but to upvote everything means you are devaluing the really good comments because they get the same reward (an upvote) as the "crappy" comments.

I find non-response from the author more disheartening as commenter than lack of an upvote.

Spot on my man! You managed to express my views in a much more condensed way than I did :)

upvoting should be left to get the comments you think are exceptionally good to the top of the list.

On my post's I would let the readers do that, and also not try to identify any comment as the relevant one over others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68530.21
ETH 2695.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72