Unplugged Radio Ep. 4 – The GANGSTER RAP vs. CONSCIOUS HIP HOP episode

in #steemit7 years ago

full_nwa-2.jpg

In this Episode of Unplugged Radio, we talk about the evolution of hip hop music and move into the area of conscious hip hop vs. gangsta rap. Gem and I discuss which one is better for the progression of hip hop. We also talk about whether it is required for a rapper/MC to display some type of consciousness no matter what his musical style or is it “just” music. This episode is possibly one of the best episodes yet.

cxxf0tklm8wlvsiktfuo.jpg

The conversation lasted much longer than we anticipated, as we found ourselves reversing back to the role that recently deceased rapper Prodigy played within hip hop music. Does the MC have an obligation to stay amongst the people or is it only right for him to leave the same environment that has made him? This is the episode for all the “real” hip hop heads!

Sort:  

Geechi, have you considered splitting up your radio casts into multiple videos? I think it's tough to get people to listen to a full hour on a post. But, if you had 6x 10 minute videos, you could get 6 posts out of it.

I realize that's more hassle and not really more efficient, but it's a problem I have myself. I write really long posts that take hours, and I only get one shot to make it to hot/trending. I'm trying to split them up into more manageable chunks so there's a decent trickle for followers.

Going to try to get a listen on this later.

Lex, what about this....What if I instruct folks to kind of Open it in a new Tab so they can continue their thing on STEEM. I think that would eliminate them trying to stay on my page but at the same time be able to listen and move on.

I agree that would be logical. I just leave your tab open and listen while I catch up on other posts, but sometimes I catch myself multitasking too much and think "What did Geechi and Gem say in the last 2 minutes". I realize I don't know and I have to bump the track back 2 minutes.

Unfortunately, I don't think most users browse social media systematically. I treat it like a second job. I read at least the start of every single article in my feed, every day, in chronological order. I don't mind keeping your tab open and listening whenever I have the chance. Unfortunately, attentions spans being what they are, I suspect many people listen to a minute or two, or worse, click your video, see it's an hour, say "I don't have an hour", and move on to cat memes. (Then again, maybe these people aren't a good demographic.)

See, my issue is I put, say, 5 hours into a well researched post like this one:

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@lexiconical/bitcoin-scaling-s-western-front-of-propaganda-outsider-s-guide-to-the-bitcoin-subreddits

Now, from watching my own posts this month, I think I would have made a substantially larger payout if I had split that 5 hours of work into 5x 1 hour posts, because then my followers could each have voted on me 5 times.

Also, the big payouts are luck, like a raffle ticket. My first week I hit two $300+ posts and I had under 100 followers. My 12 other posts were all around $1. The more posts you get out there, the more eyes you get on your work, and the more followers you get. If you split a video up into 5 posts, then by the 5th video post, you have people who followed you because they found you from video 1, or video 3, etc.

It's tough to get from Hot to Trending, and it seems like there's an element of "right place, right time" needed, beyond the baseline requirement of quality. I'm still figuring it all out myself.

Hmmm...interesting, Dope advice...I also think I need to hold off on a couple more post and really just grind it out and get my followers and comments up. ...Lots of interesting people on this thing. I'll check that post out right now. I need all the advice I can get.

Yeah, realistically, if you start out creating content, you'll see few rewards and audience. I think it's best to start out by writing high-quality comments on popular posts very soon after they are posted. That's how you get followers at first. I think I'm still in that stage, myself, but I can get away with posting things now.

On the other hand, it's definitely good to have a couple pieces of content posted right from the start, so you're all set there. You don't want people to check your page while deciding whether to follow you, see nothing there, and decide not to.

Lol. Right...that made me laugh...reminded me of that one video meme where the user left a comment then the camera show someone appearing to be on the computer then when they got to the side of him, it was just a cardboard pretending to be on the computer. Me and you are gonna be good buddies. Thanks again Lex.

Good advice. I'll consider doing that on our Cannabis episode.

I will follow you up bro, hip-hop is all i listen to :p

That's wassup. I appreciate that.

:)

Mahh man!(NO HOMO:)

Yes of course..no homo, no homo...lol

This is a great idea and discussion #upvote4upvote follow me back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32