Travelling to Namibia and Back to South Africa in 5 Days – An amazing experience (FINALE)(featuring @jacor as author)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

At last we are now on our way to do the actual job for which we came to Namibia in the first place. I picked the guys up from the guesthouse at 09:00 am. We hit the open road from Karasburg to Rosh Pinah.

If you missed Part 1 you can read it here
Part 2 of the Story here

One thing I can say is that the 3 hour 51 Minutes is actually around 5 hours, for a few reasons. We did around 150 km Gravel road at an average speed of no more than 80km/h. The area is also mountain rich road is very bendy when next to the Orange River so no speeding here. We also towed a 2 Ton trailer to bring the animals back to South Africa.
We arrived on the farm about 8 km north of Rosh Pinah, a small diamond mining village.

The four of us from left to right, Dr. Rian Coetzer, Nick Kotze (Farm Owner), Me and Wim (The guy on the right which you can’t really see due to his camouflage )
We drove a few kilometres onto the farm to Sight-in our rifles. It was my first time ever to shoot in a mountainous area, and the echo of the shot is incredible. The echo between the mountains must carry on for at least 5 seconds after each shot.

And we are off hunting!


My first “Gemsbok”.

Look at the size of the Fillet

The average weight of the Gemsbok we shot were just under 200 Kg. We shot 15 in total.

In the meat room

Loading the trailer for the way back


The way back was log and tiring as we went through the same gravel roads. A drive of around 15 hours back to Pretoria. All and all an incredible highly recommendable experience! One thing less on my bucket list!!

Ps: I added another of the Straight road photo’s especially for you @liberosist

If you like my stories please follow me at @jacor

@gavvet features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author

Sort:  

Looks like an incredible time. :) I never trust those maps anyway, though 80 K/h on a gravel road is pretty good. The only thing I don't relate to is the hunting, but that's a personal thing.

And thanks for the shout-out @jacor :) That's straight as an arrow!

I was never a hunter. My father in law, gave me a hunting rifle as a wedding present. My first hunting trip experience, triggered something in me. I don't know why, but there is something about the hunter in all of us men. I need to note that we needed to cull these animals due to the terrible drought in the area. The animals cannot survive without water... Anyway how's that fillet :)

I have been tried hunting before, but I just couldn't do it. I know in a way it's euthanasia out there, but still, the opposite triggered in me!

awesome stuff man. be safe on the way back. careful of animals crossing the road please ;)

Thanks @warrensteem . All safe at home... The only I thing nowis that there is not enough space in the freezers for all the meat!! You want some Gemsbok Braai wors?

You are from South Africa right? Where area do you live?

Ye! i live in jhb

Simple solution, make Biltong! Everyone loves themselves a bit of game biltong, oh and if you coming anywhere near KZN you're welcome to use my Biltong maker! :P

Indeed @grinderman, I have made a lot of Biltong and vacuumpacked this. I only hang the Biltong when I need more. Hence the freezers being filled to the rim :)

I call you the overly manly man of Steemit!

very interesting article, I voted in favor of your article, please vote for my article

- https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@rggreen/hi-people

good traveling

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.5 and reading ease of 81%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57