Travelling to Namibia and Back to South Africa in 5 Days – An amazing experience (PART 2)(featuring @jacor as author)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

So there we were stranded in the middle of a desert, next to a road at 3 Degrees Celsius, a dead horse in the road, a vehicle which was damaged beyond repair and cannot be moved.

If you missed Part 1 you can read it here

So what to do… First things first. The safety of the road users. We switched on all the lights and torches that we had on us. We starting flagging down the massive trucks that comes past every 20 minutes or so at around 140 km/h, *or it feels like that anyway as we do not want them to hit the dead horse. All of them must’ve had delivery schedules as they did slow down a bit but nobody actually stopped to understand if there was any injuries.

My phone is on roaming so I tried to phone the South African emergency line to find the number of their Namibian counterparts. Luckily nobody was hurt – not even a scratch – we were very lucky as this could’ve been much worse.

One of our friends Wim, bought a Namibian Sim at the border so we decided to try it out. I must say that I didn’t have much hope to find anybody at 03:00 in the morning at the Help Desk, as it was the only number we had. We phoned and it was amazing service.

The help-desk consultant immediately transferred us to the police in Karasburg. We were only about 19 Km from Karasburg and the police arrived about 30 minutes from the time we made the call. According to the police we were very lucky as the previous accident that they attended one week earlier, had no survivors.
The police arranged to have the horse moved off the road…and a tow-truck arrived around 04:30 for our rescue.

Next morning in Karasburg :

Write off!!

We spend a lot of time at the Karasburg Police Station

Now what do we do … At First we decided to return to South Africa, but then we had second thoughts … We already drove 13 hours to get into Namibia and my vehicle was parked in the Nissan Garage in Uppington, only about 2 hours away. The manager of the tow-in company suggested that I bum a lift with his daughter, who is on her way to Uppington…

Our Hunting trip was back on!!!

The guest house where we stayed

My friends checked into the guest house in I was off to fetch my vehicle. Obviously now there were much more paperwork to arrange, as I never planned to take my vehicle across the border. My poor wife (@naomi-louise) needed to arrange for this paperwork while I was driving. Letter from the bank, letter from insurance, original Vehicle registration papers – Luckily I got away with a Certified Scanned Copy, otherwise I would’ve been stuck at the border.

So the next morning, at first light, I left South Africa again, to fetch my hunting buddies in Karasburg. It was now a different experience to drive to Namibia, as we went through this part in the dark.

It must be the straightest I have ever driven.

10 Minutes later and a could take at least 5 more pictures and it would’ve still be straight!!!

Check the Commando Bird nests, next to the road.

I picked up my friends in Karasburg around 09:00 am Namibian time and we were off hunting at last.

I will share the final part of the story in a follow up post.

Happy Steeming!

@gavvet features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. STEEM Dollars for this post go to the Author

Sort:  

Good to see you recovered from that accident, @jacor. By the way, you should add back the note about this being an article from @jacor , @gavvet

I love straight roads like that! I think Dubai has one which goes on for dozens of miles. It becomes eerie after a while.

Oops good catch, will do shortly

thank you for sharing you trip , nice photos and description from Namibia.

Sounds pretty wild and crazy ... looking for to the continuing saga.

I'm requesting shots of sunrise and sundown) I'm sure they are beatiful in desert.

nice post!
thank you for sharing you trip @gavvet
good job!

Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful article. Thank you for providing this info.

[Mistake - Edited]

@gavvet , How to be on your feature list? Im planning on submitting my own article its a sort of crowdvoting that will help users earn just by doing simple task. I hope you can publish it for me. It seems i dont have the eyes of some big users despite of my works. But nevertheless its a sort of challenge to me and makes me more dedicated on steemit. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61