Our vote is now far more powerful...

in #steemit7 years ago

It therefore begs the question... What to do with it?

img source

A good bit of advice is to learn how to use power responsibly first

Those of us that have been around here a while have made our mistakes and learned through trial and much error what many new users are just discovering.

Voting power is a finite resource and must be used wisely.

In July last year when my vote was suddenly worth a couple of $ after being just worth 0.00 the first thing I did was spam votes everywhere... back than that wasn't so irresponsible because we had 40 max votes a day.

Now its different, we only have 10 max votes per day.

There are a lot of places you can see your vote power.

They can be found by dropping down the hamburger menu.

and checking out the steemit app center.

or just go too http://steemtools.com/

There are many many steemit apps to explore.

The ones I use the most are (swop the @yourusername with your steemit user name):

https://steemd.com/@yourusername

https://steemdb.com/@yourusername

That's the precise way to manage your voting power, by watching it decline as you vote.

Or you could just have fun and enjoy voting without too much thought and when you see it isn't giving that much by way of rewards, take a break for a couple of hours.

There are a few do's and don'ts

These are not written into the software but its common etiquette.

We can just vote for what we like... when we like... and that is fine too... that's one strategy and one of the least complicated.

vote for your own posts, that cool.
vote for your friends and people you follow, that's cool.
vote for strangers and new users, that's cool.
vote for content you like, that's cool.
vote for comments, that's cool.
vote up your comments, a little, to give them visibility, that's cool.
vote only for your own comments, that's not cool

Steemit will work best when everybody is spreading the love around and not just voting for themselves.

Make friends, have fun and if you want more influence and a more powerful vote... buy steem and power up.

At the moment, at these prices, it looks like around 1000 steem power gives out roughly $1 when your voting power is fully charged.

Since its now linear, if you want to hand out $10 a shot that would take around 10 000 SP

Sort:  

A couple of things to be noticed: 1) you can vote way more than 10 times a day, you just need to lower your voting slide, 2) upvote new authors, the old ones are doing pretty well without you...

I am feelin like whale lol, my 1c vote is now 1$ :)

Yes! that is cool!, upvote wisely, but upvote!, don't stop doing it...

I gave you 9% vote haha

As one of the newbies. THX for those kind of words :)

Exactly, amen to that

Pretty much.

You can only do this in the web-client if you have over 500 SP though. To do it if you are under 500 you need to use a different client, such as the eSteem app for mobile.

Yes... Well, actualle the sSteem for android does not have the voting slide either...

It does, under Settings, near the bottom of the screen.

i like point numero 2 , ;)

Great post. Thank you for sharing your insight. My voting power is like 45%, but i am minnow, so i just have fun.

that's what its all about

the main problem with the limitation of max vote power is that steemers vote because of the future curation reward they will get, and then don't vote for other posts that might actually deserve, therefor leaving that post with very few votes.

Curation has now changed significantly, It's now more beneficial to vote on things that haven't been voted on much, especially if you are a smaller voter.

Yes, if I got it correctly, Steemians are now encouraged to discover new talents and curate their content.

i'm happy to hear that, it can really improve steemit.

People is misunderstanding this: THERE IS NO LIMIT OF MAX VOTES, the limit of max votes with FULL power, that's different... People should vote as much as they like, there is no f limit...

I don't think this is a serious issue to last forever.

Yes, exactly. But i think there is a way to solve this issue

What's your idea? Honest question.

i don't know now but i'm sure a way would be found

Power comes with responsibility. From today on, I'm already not publishing anything without at least few hours of research and serious work. Because I think F19 came to encourage us pay a bit more attention on what we are publishing.

Of course, a lot of Minnows will keep looking for themselves through publishing content and they should be also supported for their grinding.

I have definitely had to adjust my voting accordingly. For now I have stopped voting on comments on my posts so I can save them for quality posts. Once I am able to get the slider though I will be back to spreading votes around to those that comment on my posts, one of my favorite ways to give back to my readers. Hopefully it will only be a couple more days until I am at that point.

Even though I knew the VP would drop much faster yesterday after the change, I was still surprised how fast it dropped. Don't think I have been this low since my first day here.

that sounds like a great strategy

I have no idea what a whale vote is worth now 🐳.
If 0.40c is up to 4.50 this should be something breath taking to see.. Hopefully i have the chance to find out.. But honestly pump up thar sp cuz stuff is getting crazy..
Cheers and much love friend :)❤︎
-Goldie

this 1% will give you an indication, and I'm not a whale

Oh god.....

Yup. HF19 yesterday was a party but only time will tell how will it actually affect the community. The thing is that with the rise of the active authors and the rise of reward pool we might see more quality authors on trending and hot sections.

Thanks for your sharing! Yes, before the hard fork 19, I know that my vote will be 4 times more important, but only yesterday when it roll out, I really feel the difference. Yes, right now we have to be more serious about every vote we are going to give as you only have 10. And you really need to make sure the post worth!

Great analysis @gavvet
Lots of info people. Read it well. Thank you my friend @gavvet

Great, I have 2.5k Sp, and at 40% power gives 1.25$, guess I have got power, but I am using my vote power too much, does it affect us if it goes down to zero??

If it goes down to 0% your votes won't be worth anything anymore.

I am planning to try it atleast once.....we should try everything in life you know.

No not everything. Not drugs and shit like that..

But you can try this 😂 but let me tell you it will take you 5 days to reach 100% again.

Yo what's wrong with drugs

Well then I suggest you leave suicide till last :)

Will surely do after 80 years.

yup it will decrease as your vote power decreases

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51