New to Steem Series #1: My Number 1 Rule - Secure Your Owner Key. Failure to Adhere to This Rule Results in Massive Loss.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello Everyone

Welcome to Steem. When I first started with steem, I found myself very confused. Why do I have so many keys and what should I do with it.

Screenshot 2017-07-10 20.15.49.png

I bet as with everyone I started to use the password given to me by Steemit to login and out of Steem. It was only weeks later when I start to learn more about steem that I realized I am doing a fatal mistake.

Thus, I plan to let as many new steemian know about this as early as possible.

Super Powerful Private Owner Key / Master Password

Screenshot 2017-07-10 20.38.33.png
Image Credit

After much research, I learned that the private owner key or also known as the master password has a very powerful role.

It can essentially change your other keys. More about the keys later. This means that any person who gets hold of your master password can lock you out of your own account by changing the master password.

Once that happen, don't expect steemit to help you recover your account. The private owner key in crytocurrency lingua is like your Bitcoin's private key. Once somebody gets hold of it, he controls the fund in the account.

The beauty of blockchain is that there is no Central authority, so in essence, there is no one central figure that can ban you from your account. But because there is no Central authority, there is also no Central authority to recover your account if it gets stolen.

Thus, keeping safe the private owner key or master password is solely your responsibility.

How to Keep Your Private Owner Key or Master Password Secure

Screenshot 2017-07-10 20.32.10.png
Image credit

First rule is to not have a digital copy of it anywhere. So, the best is to print multiple hard copies of the master password or owner key and keep them safe.

One hard copy can be placed in your portable safe at home. Another hard copy can be placed at the bank vault.

Also, do not put your steem username on the hard copy. This way even if the thief got your hard copy, they find don't know your username. Make sure do not put the word steem on it so they won't even know what it is for.

You can also insert an extra letter at the end or at a predefined position by you. This will throw off the person who got your hard copy owner key. When you have to use it, just cancel out that extra letter when keying in.

After keeping it safe, you won't be using the owner key or master password anymore anytime soon.

So, Without the Owner Key, How do I Login?

In Steemit, if you are just posting blogs, voting and commenting, you can use the private posting key in logging in. Using this key, you don't have permission to your wallet. Thus, for me, it is the safest key to login. You can get your private posting key and private active key by going to your Wallet > Permissions > Show Private Key.

Screenshot 2017-07-10 20.15.49.png

From time to time, you would need the private active key to transfer steem to steem power, or to withdraw steem. During these times, you can login using the private active key. After your session, remember to logout.

For extra security, you can power up all your steem to steem power or to savings. When it is in steem power, you won't be able to withdraw it without a 3 month notice. With savings, you need a 3 days notice. Thus, even if the thief got your active key, you would know something is amiss when you see your steem power is being withdrawn. You can then use the owner key to change all the keys.

Conclusion

To keep your steem account safe, make a hard copy of your private owner key / master password and shred all digital copy of it. Only use the private posting key and sometimes the private active key in logging in.

-----------------------------
The New to Steem Series is a series of helpful guides to help those who are new to steem. With the large ecosystem of steem, it is becoming hard to comb through the documents in steemit to know which are important and which are outdated.

When writing this series, I put myself as much as possible in the position of a person new to steem and new to cryptocurrency in general. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me anything.

Sort:  

Thank you everyone for the upvote.

This is good information, thanks. Does it happen much that accounts get stolen?

If you think there is something that someone new to steem needs to know, let me know.

gaman ji, am new to steem..plz guide me

If you have any questions, feel free to ask here :)

May I contribute to the series? I am new to SteemIt and Blockchains and I would like to learn more about the economics of it and how it works, I also would like to learn about the technology that supports these systems. I am new to all this, so I am ignorant, but I am also determined and very excited and curious.

Ensure to set and follow best security practices to protect your digital assets...

How about storing your Master Key on Google Drive with 2FA enabled?

Not a good idea. Best place is off line. Of course if you are only keeping nominal amounts on Steemit then you can choose to risk it, but Google Drive isn't safe enough for money you don't want to loose.

What I find the key benefit of cloud storage is that it makes your life easier and you have access to your important stuff anytime, anywhere without hassle. Isn't that Google offers the most advanced online security? Thought they are the top notch on the field.

The whole point of crypto is that you hold your private keys. Putting them on google may be 6.5/10 safe but not as safe as you can get. Maybe its different with Steem, i'm new to the platform, but with my other crypto private keys i would never store them on the cloud. Usually on a hardware wallet like the Trezor. Another thing I thought of are the recent articles of people being frozen out of their google docs because of some sort of the content of their documents. I just think better safe than sorry.

THX for the informative post! 7-3's!

Thanks so much @gaman. I am learning new things everyday entering my 3rd weeks here. Will learn more from you. Have upvoted and followed you. Good Day Sir!

What a valuable post! Thank you for teaching me this! @gaman

Welcome to Steemit ! have fun with it. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome to Steemit ! have fun with it. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60972.21
ETH 3388.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55