Paying it forward: I'm giving these silver coins away

in #steemit6 years ago

I often read a lot about the sense of community on steemit, how "overwhelmed" people are by the “amazing connection” they have made with this person or that through the platform. Some are genuine with this sentiment yet I get the feeling that many talk the talk but if/when tested on it would be unable (or unwilling) to walk the walk. Community means a whole lot more than a simple upvote or resteem and am annoying "good post my dear" comment.

I've seen a few acts of generosity on steemit of course and there’s some out there doing generous stuff with the view to building their brand and the platform through community/platform engagement; Also some simple acts of kindness and generosity as well so it’s not all bad however in the main I see a lot of talk and a lot of selfishness.

P1100984.jpg

My wife gave me a gift yesterday, you can read about it here - Please do. I decided I'll pay it forward and to give a little back to the community myself so I’m going to give away two of my half-ounce silver coins to a deserving steemit user, complete with one of the most Aussie of icons stamped on it. The koala bear! This is not a challenge however it may prove to be challenging for some depending on how they truly feel about, and embrace, the spirit of community. I guess whether you get nominated or not will be up to how you've conducted yourself so far on the platform I guess.

Below you’ll find the parameters of the “giveaway” and how to enter. You should probably read this post and the rules below very carefully so you understand. Incorrect entries will not be submitted into the draw. (Yes, you'll have to read the whole post...)

  • Reply to this post and nominate/tag the steemit user you think would benefit from having the coins. (Don't nominate me) Strictly one nomination per user only. Explain in 20-30 words why you have nominated that user (their account legitimacy will be checked) Entries will close 6 days after this post goes live. No random comments in the reply please, just the tag and 20-30 word explanation.

  • I will also enter an unspecified number of users (wildcards) who have made nominations, maybe 3 or so, in addition to the nominated users so some of the people nominating other's will have a chance at winning. This is about nominating deserving people though right?

  • Each nominated entrant and the 3 or so wildcards will be put into a container and the draw will be video recorded

  • The result will be posted and the winner will be contacted (somehow) so the winner can email me with their postal address details. I will need to verify the recipient to be true and correct of course. (You may like to have a discord user name for this purpose or even create an email address just for this purpose to send me)

  • The coins will be posted (worldwide) to the winner within a reasonable time frame and as soon as possible after the draw and the address/user has been verified (I’m busy so don’t pester me about it please)

  • My decision's will be final in all matters. I'm quite serious about this - It's my silver and so I think that's fair. I also reserve the right to do whatever I want.

So, that’s pretty much it. I decided to run with the ”nominate someone else” thing rather than entering oneself because I’ve read many many posts and comments about how thankful users are to others for one thing or another and thought it would be a great chance for those people to get all warm and fuzzy inside by nominating a deserving user they would like to have the chance to secure my silver coins. I think it would be so cool to see some very deserving steemit user pick up the coins and way cooler that they were nominated by one of their generous peers!

What would be even more cool would be a resteem of this post which, through additional coverage, may see even more deserving nominees have the chance at the silver coin. If you don’t want to resteem that’s ok too of course.

I know that some may simply nominate their secret second account, a friend or family member or steemit mate however I really hope that some people genuinely nominate someone who really deserve's it and that that individual wins in the draw. Also, I have gone with the two half-ounce coins instead of a one ounce in case the recipient decides that paying it forward has merit and wants to pass one on to someone else who is also deserving. How awesome would that be!

OK, so there you have it. This is my first go at this and there may be some bugs I guess so you'll have to be patient with me. This may all go pear-shaped but hopefully not. I hope people embrace it though as I feel the steemit community could use a bit more...community. Just a little bit.

Sort:  

I nominate @msendija1
She is an extremely talented young artist, and blogger, yet because it is tough to fight whales and people who post only to earn, her posts are so undervalued

In all the truth, I have no one to nominate. Maybe, because I'm just that weird like that my good friend @galenkp.

However, I'm highly happy to witness your unique initiative of Paying it forward. And therefore, I'm gonna upvote & resteem this post with all my strength!!

Cheers!! :)

Hi @por500bolos I greatly appreciate your resteem and vote. There's still a little time so if you decide you'd like to nominate someone then please go ahead. It may also gain you an entry into the draw as a wildcard. It's your choice mate, I just appreciate you reading and reacting to my post.

Thank you mate for your kind words. And if it is mandatory nominate someone. I guess my choice would have to be @steemchiller for obvious reasons. For his restless good work on SteemWorld and also to simply remind to everybody here; ¿Why the heck you, me and everyone else that make life in steemit everyday has always two tabs simultaneously open in their browsers all the time?

Cheers!! };)

GREAT CHOICE! That man does work tirelessly on that wonderful system. I agree 100%

Thank you @johndoer123. Really glad that we agree on our points of view.

Cheers!! :)

What a way to have my mind blown as soon as I woke up. People truly are amazing. The physical side as well as the emotional and compassionate sides as well. Thank you so much for sharing that with me. What an uplift!

My pleasure mate!! :)

Just stay in tune with my extravagances for an eventual uplift here & there sometimes. LoL

Cheers!! :)

I nominate @insideoutlet for her continous work on helping under-valued and great posters through the @asapers that need more exposure to their work and share the result as pay it forward action.

Great nomination ❤❤❤❤

Awww shucks guys, you rock thanks @cicisaja and @yogajill xx

Wish that you'll win the silver coins and share more for the community😂 You'd prefer diamond than silver I guess😉

@cicisaja haha who wouldn't love a diamond or two lol but in saying that my hubby and I do love coins and often collect odd ones from our travels.

Well.. I nominate the right one😉

I nominate @johndoer123 .. .. he runs many easy to win games that help newbies out a great deal. Visit his blog you won't be disappointed.

That's very kind and generous of you. I really appreciate it. If I do win, I'm going to have him ship you it instead. You've helped so many people here too! And been so supportive of me in this Community and for me as a friend. I really do appreciate you. I'm so glad to have met you. @galenkp, you should go to @rentmoney's page and check out all the great stuff he's doing!

I nominate @thedarkhorse
A true giver to the platform time after time and does not seek a reward in return

Yep....Yep. Great choice there! Both of you guys do great things!

@weetreebonsai. She has been my steemit mother figure since my beginning. I can truly say she is here for the community and not for the money, which speaks volumes.

Awww thank you sweetie, may I live up to your words...

You’re welcome! I meant it. It was only coincidence that your comment was above mine :)

I nominate @kryptik - a soon-to-be-dad, hope-to-become-paramedic and a majestic cock with a golden heart.

Thanks kris! I’m flattered you nominated me.

I nominate @abh12345
Focusses his attention and energy on community - engagement, and empowerment of other users in an organic (human, approachable) way. Skilled work done selflessly, tirelessly and with integrity. Long track record of this.

How did i miss this, ginabot must have been on strike.

Thank you very much @barge for the nomination and very kind comments above!

I would like to nominate @paulag who works hard recognise new users and encourages us to stay. In particular her red fish league.

wow thank you, I am very honored

I nominate @goldmatters because he has been the most resourceful steemian as far as gold knowledge and investment is concerned. He is ever consistent, always willing to help new adopters set foot on track of their gold journey. Community is about helping the helpless, his support for #steemsilvergold community is unprecedented.

Nominations are closed. Sorry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49