A new type of social experiment on the STEEMIT platform - Giveaway Edition

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit,

Let's try something new.

Let's use the power of this new platform on itself, and see where it takes us.

So here's the thing . We all see the ridiculous amounts that most top posts get, and that's great, but curators sometimes get close to nothing for an upvote. This post is here to change that.

At the end of the first 24 hours period after the creation of this post, I'll be redistributing 50% of all the Steem dollars payed out equally among all upvoters - as verifiable on the blockchain - no matter what the final amount is or how many votes this gets.

To kickstart this post, I'll be guaranteeing a minimum of 50 Steem dollars that I'll be giving away for free. As you can see here, that amount is already waiting in my account.


What you need to do to enter:

  • Upvote this post - that's all, there's nothing to lose.

How it will work on my end:

  • In 24 hours, I will edit this post and write the total amount received in Steem Dollars, as verifiable on the blockchain.
  • The amount of Steem dollars one can expect to receive will also be clearly indicated (50% of all Steem dollars payed out after 24 hours divided by the number of upvotes).
  • A list of all accounts that participated (and can expect a reward) will be added here.

Seeing the amount of Steem dollars that some of the top voted posts get and their small number of upvotes, it's quite likely that you'll never get payed this much for a simple mouse click - and that's the goal!


Why I'm doing this

I was recently inspired by @roelandp (creator of SteemStream and the first male makeup tutorial) to create a raffle. Not having much to give, I realized that I'd have to raise some Steem before being able to give it away. What if this could be done in the same post? And what if, instead of giving back to only 6 people, I could give back to everyone, risking very little in the process?

So here we are. If this turns out to be a successful experiment, the remaining 50% will also be a huge plus.

But I'm also quite curious...

After skimming through the whitepaper, there's no doubt that what @ned and @dantheman have built here nothing short of revolutionary. However, the platform is built on the idea that curators will upvote quality content to keep what they have at stake, Steem power, valuable for at least two years. I'm curious to see how delayed gratification will play into this. What do you guys think?

Sort:  

Turns out I can't edit after the first payout - so here's the update:

Well, that was deceiving! We got flagged early on and never got the chance we deserved...
Nonetheless, as described above, here's the list of upvoters:

Since no amount of SBD was received for this post, I'll only be distributing the guaranteed 50 SBD.
With 15 upvotes, this is 3.33 SBD per person. - EDIT: I forgot that the Flag cancels an upvote, so there were 16 upvotes instead of 15. I decided to bump the total amount to be redistributed to 53.33.
I hope everyone got their SBD as expected.

Thanks for participating!

woohoo! SBD received. thank you!

Received my 3.33! Thanks so much!!

This was an interesting concept, and a generous one. One thing's for sure, steemit is an amazing platform and the sky's the limit regarding where it could take us

Thanks bud, much appreciated!

good initiative 8]

Great idea! Quite refreshing to see some creativity to create a win-win situation.

Thanks, let's hope the rest of the community agrees!

Wow awesome! Thanks for the 3.330 SBD. As a minnow, this actually is a decent boost to my voting power. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56