You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple test for right vs wrong on the steem blockchain... there is more to it than "the code is law".

in #steemit7 years ago

I had to look twice at your picture, I thought it was my neighborhood church... it is not...

On topic: upvoting is the glue in this experiment. Without the reward it brings, this would be another reddit. It has to work otherwise it will be a minority collecting worthless tokens for themselves. Which eventually will lead to failure. Because the platform is unsustainable without growth. And growth is only possible with the proper incentives. HF 19 marked the start of incentivized egotistical behavior and I think it is the beginning of the end if something is not done to make new users thrive. I don't believe the various 'whale-upvote" services that has popped up to "help" new users is anything but the first nail in the coffin for steemit.

Sort:  

Well fortunately the people doing the negative things are a small minority, and they are losing followers and support. I've heard the "nail in the coffin" thing many times in the over year I've been here and it just gets stronger. The community tends to mobilize and the problems seem to mostly go away or come in cycles, even WITH the problems there is no other platform of social media that comes close to it. I do not see us being anywhere near close to nail in coffin... However, if EVERYONE acted like these small minority of jerks then YES it would fail.

Which is exactly my point. Steemit allows for centralization of power and I think that if it does not get better, I'll be gone within a year. Simply because I think it eventually will be too top heavy.

That actually seems to be slowly getting better than it was. Before HF19 the top heavy aspect was far more extreme and that has been for most of it's life. And yes, you can be gone... back to somewhere that you get nothing.

I choose to try to look at the positives rather than the negatives, but I will talk about the negatives still if I think we as a community can do something about them.

Even with the negatives this place is WAY cooler than any other community I've found. Now if people DO focus too heavily on the money side it can get pretty frustrating, so I just quit focusing on that and let what happens happen. I had many posts I busted my ass on that made $0. I've had some do pretty well, and for awhile I was doing about 10% of whatever a trending post was, lately I've been less than that, but I don't really care.

I get something for my time, even if it is only a little bit. That is not something I can claim anywhere else. We've had people come here from youtube and do comparisons and they are actually make way more here than they were from youtube.

Is it sustainable? I don't know... there has never been anything like this. The currency is backed by our creations and linked to them. That potentially makes it very valuable.

They haven't even BEGUN to advertise this yet. They have things they want to work out in terms of scalability before advertising so I do think this could become quite huge. It's been incredibly lucrative for me and I just put in time and effort and try to support the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52