Steem: feature request! Let's make interaction more important!

in #steemit6 years ago

feature request.jpg
Source
Well I would like to request a new addition to the @steemit and @busy.org frontends!
I don't think that the request I'm going to propose will need a fix the to steem blockchain or will require a big lot of work!
I don't to whom or where to address this request, so if you do like the idea, please direct it the correct people/groups!

Why?

Well we all know that the Trending and Hot pages are a little bit broken. One can buy his way to the top on one of the pages, while another post can rise, on the other, because it did get support from a big whale!
And why not, the blockchain allows it so people may use it, at least according to me. It is not something that I do want to see or suggest doing, but I can life with it! So no, bot owners I am not blaming you. You just did see a business model, which probably worked out great for you! Kudos for that! But on the other hand, you are maybe biting a little bit in the hand, which feeds you!

Social Media Platform

According to me, the Steem blockchain is an ideal mix between the old know social media! But with the extra catch that we can earn a few bucks with it!
But if I do take a look at the other social media platforms, I do notice that a lot more interaction is going on! Here we do have an average of 2,5 comments per post!!!
Here on the Steem blockchain, one could buy a post into the trending page. No problem with that, but some of these authors don't even take the time to reply on the genuine comments they are receiving! Not even on one! It is a post and run mentality!

My proposal

We now have the Trending, hot, new and promoted pages on the Steemit and busy.org frontends. I would like to propose an addition to this!
Some kind of interaction page! Which ranks the post, which didn't reach the pay-out date yet, based on the interaction which is going! If a post does attracts a lot of interaction, then it has for sure an added value to the steem blockchain.
The post can be provocative, a good story, a question, a great idea or so on! It doesn't matter, if people discuss it, it has added value!
The one thing which would be utmost important in this section, is that a comment or reply of a whale should have as much weight as the comment or reply of a red fish/plankton. I do understand that the Steem Power is used in all other algorithms, where it should! But it should not be the case in this section.
This because the comment of a red fish has as much value as the comment of a big whale! Just like in the real world where my opinion could be as valuable as the one of Eton Musk (not really the case, but I need to give an example!)

Algorithm for the interaction page/section!

There are much more intelligent people here on the blockchain, that I am. People who will have a much better vision which should be fair or not within the algorithm. But I would like to start the discussion and give some parameters that could/should be calculated in the algorithm to build such a ranking.

  • the age of the post: a post which get immediately much more interaction than a 5 days old post, should get more weight in the ranking
  • the number of different steemians being involved in the interaction
  • the depth of some of the interactions. Are there just comments, which do stand alone, or are there indepth discussions going on, where one reacts on another comment and so on
  • only post which didn't reach the pay-out date should be listed!
  • every comment or reply, regardless of the steem power the commenter has, should have the same value

You will probably can come up with some more great ideas, to be add to this algorithm! I am sure, probably you just did had a great idea!

Why again?

I don't want to disrupt the bots and the current evolutions on the steem blockchain. But I do find interaction upmost important to keep the steem blockchain alive and kicking. So why not give it some attention and exposure!
People, if desired, can still use the bot to promote their article (like written before I don't judge you for doing this) for the trending or hot pages. But at least we would have a interaction page where a red fish, plankton or whale does have the same change to get noticed. Post could climb the rankings, like they should. And if you did not make it to the top, you can buy an extra comment (well you could, but just ignore this fact for a minute)
I do know that some bots, do leave a comment when the service has been used. But by using 10 bots, it will give the post only 10 extra comments in the post and the post will have the same ranking as post with 10 genuine comments! Probably the author will respond to the comment and due to the algorithm of depth it will surpass it! So the influence will not be so big!

What's next?

Because I don't know to whom I need to address this request, I do this in the open.
I'm willing to help with working this out if needed!
I will address some people here at the bottom of this post, who could help to get the message to the right people or maybe the right people are already in the mentioned list!
Some of the ones I will mention, are unknown to me but do care about the steem blockchain. So sorry to bother you with my idea!

I won't be using bit bots, flat rate bots or resteem services for this post. Here I do count on you all.
If you do like the idea, feel free the resteem this post, so that the idea gets known by as much people as possible!
It is worth a try in my opinion! And I am open to discuss this with everybody. If you do feel that this is a stupid idea, feel free to let me know but keep it at the facts!

Don't hesitate to leave a comment on this article!

Keep the faith,
Peter

Mentioning the following people:
@abh12345, @dan, @roelandp, @lukestokes, @lukestokes.mhth, @curie, @berniesanders, @themarkymark, @arcange, @steemcommunity, @dragosroua, @taskmaster4450, @ned, @stellabelle, @steemitblog, @teamsteem, @penguinpablo, @davemccoy
If you do feel, that I am harassing you, feel free to flag this article! I just make to make the steem blockchain better! It is better to propose a stupid solution than none at all! Also sorry in advance to drag you guys and girls into this!

Sort:  

I'm not sure this is really possible. @denk-mit has a lot of "interaction" as I alluded to in my Bot abuse post.

We can only try! I have nothing to loose 😂

You do realize how bad it looks when you complain about someone using a lot of bots in a post and then you yourself use a ton of bots to promote that post?

I don't thank the bots and then use bots to upvote my thank you comments. I don't use the same bot 5 or 10 times on one blog post.

Yes his level of buying rewards is at a higher and much sleazier level then yours. But it still looks bad when you click over and see that.

This is an interesting idea, and I think it's a good one, but I have no idea how to make it happen :) I would like to congratulate you on thinking selflessly about this and instead of simply complaining, you're trying to come up with a solution. I also want to say how pleased to see @abh12345 actually take the time to come here, read your post and comment! He's who I thought of while reading your ideas, because he's the stats guy ;) I do agree with his comment as well; it might be impossible to change things here, but the lessons learned here might prove to make new interfaces more like you are imagining.

I hope your shout-out brings some more voices to your post, but regardless, you are doing a good thing here ;)

Thanks Lynn :D

Yes, I actually beat you to this post - that doesn't happen often!

Throwing ideas out whenever you have them is a good thing for sure, let's hope some features relating to the above are being worked on as we speak :)

Geez, I'm not on my A-game then for sure!!

Your last line is a little cryptic, so I hope you are onto something good...or just being hopeful...either way, it's a good thing!

There's an inherent fault in the Steemit system that's far from unique, when people reward you then they are at the same time decreasing the overall reward pool, so it's not in anyones interest to interact or help anyone else.

I think that's why there isn't much more interaction on the platform because everyone is basically competing against everyone else for the same reward.

That and the fact that the vast majority of people here seem to be doing it only for the money, so there's a lot of competition.

I do believe that the idea behind the system is great and well thought. They just did underestimate the greed of the human mankind!

I know, coupled with the fact that once you get to whale level you can flag out any of your competition, at the same time making yourself exponentially stronger/richer. I think they did indeed underestimate humans... :-(

I think that the idea has merit. Something, anything, needs to be done to help bring some quality content into the eyes of the masses and drop off the shit that bots are willing to upvote. Loved seeing the Pizza guy get smashed to nothing the other day!

Think that comments from any bot would need to be excluded from the calculations, but that should be pretty easy. Also maybe something in the algo that looks at number of characters per comment so it's not just a bunch of comment bots saying nice post and also give more weight to comments that have upvotes.

Would be a lot to factor in and probably not as simple as you think. But it's worth exploring.

Personally I'd rather just see the bots go away or create a filter in the trending and hot pages that removes all weight from bid bots. Then let the real cream rise to the top.

Maybe it isn’t the best idea but it better than standing at the sideline and moan that it is getting worse!
Maybe this gives a smarter person an much better one!

For sure, it's a talking point. My talking point of killing the bots value will never fly, way to many of the top 20 witnesses make a living from delegating SP to bots or run bots.

I have what I think is a real solution to actual paid promotion which everyone claims bid bots are, but it would never fly due to the loss of passive revenue for the whales.

There is the promoting feature, which burns the steem. But like you wrote the whales won’t use it because they don’t get any return!
We could blame the bots but remember if they had no customer they would stop!

Problem is nobody goes to the promoted tab and why would you. That is like if google had 2 sets of search results, paid and curated, which one would you visit?

Well I don’t know. Do you click in the first paid search result when doing a google search.
I rarely.
But I do understand your point!

LOTS of people click the paid results in google. Personally I don't, but I understand what they are.

I think something along the lines of the above will come in time across many of the condensers (user interfaces) of the Steem Blockchain.

It could be that, to save users doing the work as we are a bunch of lazy sods, the focus is on the bot-boosted posts.

The things you mentioned in matt-a's (?) recent post might be worth pursuing as a post too?

Have a good weekend!

Thx, nice weekend to you too.
Will think about it!
Don’t forget that I will sponser lucky 25 for another9 weeks!

Good comments can go up in trending even if you are not a whale, but with the help of a whale.
Btw I launched my sponsorship for your contest.
Good luck with your initiatives!

Maybe busy.org can test it out first and then steemit?
I am tired of the trashy trending page

I have added the names in the post who could the message to the right people. It is up to them now!
@arcange already has something like it in his daily posts!

People would make bots to emulate high levels of interaction. It wouldn't be hard to do.

I'm not sure if there's an administrative solution to this issue. Maybe a community solution, though.

I know they will! Some bots already leave a comment after upvoting the post!
But I hope this post could start something! We will see, and if not, I tried to do something.

I agree that intereaction is vital to the success of this latform however tell that to those who posts 6 to 10+ posts daily ...they care only for themselves...thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41