So you want some Steem Backed Dollars (SBD)? Well I wanted some too so I made them the only way I could.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I hear people talking about SBD all the time and asking if there is a representation of them. I couldn't find any and one day I needed one for a meme. That was a few weeks ago. I whipped something up quick and used it. After working on something else I started thinking I could to a lot better at making one so I did. That one lead to a whole set and here they are.

Back to that first attempt. I wanted to make a meme with a pile of SBD bills but couldn't find anything. Tried finding just a regular SBD but couldn't find that either. So I whipped up this one.

Not bad but not too good either. It worked for what I needed and with a lot of copy/paste/edit I got my pile of SBD.

So we jump forward to yesterday. After finishing another project the night before I wonderd if I could use some of the techniques I whipped up for that project and make a better SBD. First attempt on a layout came out great. I sent it off to @royaltiffany to see if it was worth pursuing and her reaction said yes it was. I felt it still needed something more. I modified some free for reuse clipart and it came out great. That result was most of the 1SBD bill and the basic layout for all the bills. Now was when I started thinking about taking it farther. With that in mind I decide to make the 1SBD with a minnow on it. First attempt was a winner.

Now what other bills to make and what to put on them. Of course the dolphin and whale were a shoe in. I again consulted with @royaltiffany and we came up with a plan for the 5, 10, 25, 100, 500, 1000, 10000, and 100000.









Many hours later after having those done I decided to toss in the 5000 and 50000 as well.


A that point the set was near completion but what to put on the biggest bill the $1000000SBD. This one was all @royaltiffany's idea. That's right @ned and @dan got the spot.

So that was the complete set or so I thought. After looking at my account and seeing SBD with it 3 decimal points I decided to add more bills. Started work on the .001. I went to bed with it mostly finished but at that time the pic was krill. Thinking about it while trying to sleep I came up with the final plan to make a total of 3 change bills. The krill was moved to the .01 and the .001 became plankton. Tossed in a squid to round out the whale food.



The set was nearly complete but I still had one thing on my mind. @royaltiffany made a joke about the Loch Ness Monster so I thought I'll do a half million with a kraken on it. Didn't like that but didn't want to go with the standard serpent Loch Ness Monster either. Instead I went with the plesiosaur. The set was complete.

This whole set took about 16 hours to make. I did it in paint.net. Free for reuse clipart and free program. All it took was a lot of trial and error and time. They are free to use but please give credit.

The biggest plus? Now when someone asks what a SBD looks like you can show them.....

Sort:  

You missed a lochness monsta bill worth $3.50...

#randomactofklyeart

"tree fiddy" would have been proper terminology but a solid A for being quick on your feet!

Have a muscley upsticking!

Changing words is easy. Blue Loch Ness monster not as easy.

You are doing god's work sir.

Ha ha ha

Gotta Love ❤️❤️❤️it
I give you One hunddy Plankton cents

Only 999 more of those for a minnow.

Ok
I double up my hunddy
Followup if you come to my post @bullionstackers
Follow 😜

You like your half million note?

Yup :D Good job !

Hillarious indeed!

Those look pretty good and the sea creature representation on each one seems pretty much on point. Good Work!

Thanks. I had a few more ideas but didn't want to force denominations in or get too outrageously high on the denominations.

This is awesome! A while ago, when I believed that I too could whip up some cash for my internet project, I used Paint. The cash turned out terrible, and I later trashed the entire idea.
This is some of the best currency I have seen!
Kudos!
Upvote, AND follow.
:D

Thanks for the compliment. I stared by making the background paper out of a flood fill and a 5% pattern. Little effects and that was the base. Rest was just some circles, fining the right fonts, and pics/clipart. Making stuff bluish that's the fun part.

Personally I prefer paint.net over photoshop. I have photoshop but hardly ever use it.

I was going for a bit of comedy there.

You should print them and sell them on the Dark Web - LOTS of Bitcoiners wanting to buy fakes there! LOL!

Guess I need to do back sides for them then.

Plenty of back sides on the Dark Web too! LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38