Promoting steemit -- I'm getting the word out about steemit the old fashined way and you can too.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I heard about steemit having a referral system a coulple of weeks ago but didn't know if it really existed or not. After reading this thread by @ash yesterday I saw it actually existed. Frankly i was kind of disappointed in the numbers I saw. A little later I read another thread by @bayareacoins and seeing steemit being blocked from being discussed I came up with an idea. Theymos can stop discussion on BCT and /r/bitcoin but he can't stop paid ads on /r/bitcoin. Having advertised before I knew reddit ads are pretty cheap so I went and set one up. Short 1 week run on /r/cryptocurrency /r/bitcoin and /r/btc.

Note: There appears to be some kind of issue with images on the site right now. Hopefully the other 2 images will work later.

Note: Not sure why 2 images are only displaying the top portion. They are fine on imgur. I'm working on it.

I was wondering if reddit would approve it or find to reason to deny steemit ads. It took several hours but finally it was approved and my credit card charged (can you believe they still don't' accept crypto?):

I figured why stop there. I use 4 other companies to advertise other sites so I set up one more ad on adbit.co. Again not much just .025 BTC or about $15 at the time. This time I went for a longer time period of 3 weeks. With sites like these you get a lot more impressions but not as many actually clicks on the links.

So at that point it was just a waiting game to see what happens with this little experiment. If nothing else I'm sure I'll piss some /r/bitcoin mods off so that is a win in my book. After a few hours I saw the adbit ads start to be paid for. Stats lag behind on both reddit and adbit so it would be some more time before I saw any results. A few more hours and there were already 2 clicks on both reddit and adbit ads. At that point I called it a night and went to bed. Now we are about 24 hours after I stared and here are the initial results:

551,165 ads but only 4 clicks. Not unexpected results. But even better:

Far less ads with 5018 but 25 clicks. More expensive but it's a more targeted audience.

So after one day that is a possible 29 new steemians or steemites or whatever the term is. I'll keep this thread updated with stats as the weeks goes on. I thought about setting up more ads but I can't really put any more money into it. I will put any SBD made on this thread to continuing ads or setting up new ones. Remember you too can advertise steemit this way. While reddit doesn't take crypto other sites do and of course you can use convert your steem to bitcoin to pay for them. All you need is an ad pic/banner which you can find by searching the site or even make your own. Only takes a few minutes to setup and get going. Heck mellowads.com even has a faucet so you can get free ads.

We will see the final results when the next referral totals come out......

Sort:  

Spending your own money on promoting steemit, Now that's dedication. I hope your well rewarded for it through this post my friend :)

It does show dedication indeed.

Thank you for spreading the word about this great platform.

Steem on,
Mike

Thanks I'm trying to get the word out.

That's so awesome ! Good job Fubar :)

Thank you. Still not near the impact you can have bringing people in. Can't wait for the interview.

Well that's even better. Got a promotion for interviewee to co-host :D

Awesome! I love to hear about people promoting.

Reddit might as well be shitscared of steemit. I hear the upvotes you get there give you nothing.
Also the referral system doesn't really add anything to your account.
Also good job on everything you're doing.

Day 2 update:


Up to 1,174,300 ads delivered with 166 clicks.

One thing I love about this place - many of the users are busy conducting various and decentralized experiments. Curious, productive people.

This is great! Sorry I missed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60592.45
ETH 2714.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45