My time at the Hanoi Steemit Meet-up!

in #steemit7 years ago

IMG_1089.jpg

The Hanoi Steemit Meet-up on January 21, 2018.

I'm a few days late posting this, but I had to wait until I got home from Vietnam. @doctorcrypto and I went to Vietnam for 2 weeks and as luck would have it, a Steemit meet-up was being held while we were there. I'm going to finish my Country By Country series, but I want to post this due to the time-sensitive nature of its content.

Before leaving for Vietnam, I had noticed @hanggggbeeee had posted about a Steemit meet-up in Hanoi. We got in touch and made plans to meet before the event.

When we met @hanggggbeeee, she brought another foreigner with her. @derekcowan lives in Saigon and flew to Hanoi for the meet-up. We went out for some food and drinks. We had a fun time getting to know each other and learning about what to expect at the meet-up.

20180120_212251.jpg

@doctorcrypto, @derekcowan, and @hanggggbeeee at a roof-top bar in Hanoi.

I had seen some of @derekcowan's posts in #vietnam and it was fun talking about Steemit and his experiences of being a foreigner in Vietnam.

baby flourish.png

The Event

On the day of the event, Google sent us to the wrong place (never trust Google in Asia!). Luckily, we weren't too far from the actual location and we were able to walk the rest of the way. When we arrived, the meet-up had already started.

IMG_1032.jpg

IMG_1029.jpg

Many different Steemit topics were covered. Everything from content quality, to cashing out was discussed. Since most of the presentations were in Vietnamese, I don't know exactly what was said, but it looked like there was a lot of great information for the Vietnamese Steemians in attendance. Quite a few of the attendees are brand new to Steemit and I think the information presented will prove quite valuable to them.

Here are some of my photos of the presenters. I'm not sure about some of the people's account names. Apologies for not remembering some of your names :(

IMG_1025.jpg

IMG_1026.jpg

IMG_1036.jpg

@hanggggbeeee, presenter, organizer, translator, helper, and foreign relations expert.

20180121_145117.jpg

IMG_1039.jpg

IMG_1049.jpg

@doctorcrypto discussing @steemchiller's awesome SteemWorld site.

IMG_1056.jpg

@derekcowan discussing the @smartsteem tools.

IMG_1064.jpg

@a-alice giving a presentation about vote bots.

IMG_1073.jpg

@a-alice and @hanggggbeeee.

IMG_1079.jpg

A very informative presentation about converting STEEM to fiat.

baby flourish.png

A little awards ceremony was held to recognize some of the Steemians at the event. I believe the winners were voted on.

IMG_1092.jpg

IMG_1097.jpg

IMG_1098.jpg

baby flourish.png

I counted around 20 people at the event. I'm not going to attempt tagging everyone in the photos. I'm terrible at remembering western names, and Asian names are almost impossible for me.

IMG_1027.jpg

IMG_1030.jpg

IMG_1081.jpg

IMG_1082.jpg

IMG_1087.jpg

IMG_1088.jpg

IMG_1094.jpg

IMG_1095.jpg

baby flourish.png

After the meet-up was concluded, we were invited out for an authentic meal away from the tourist area. The talented, lovely, and beautiful @hanggggbeeee and @little-princess were great hosts and took us to an excellent little place for dinner.

IMG_1101.jpg

@little-princess and @hanggggbeeee

After a very tasty meal, it was time to part ways.

20180121_193712.jpg

We said goodnight to the girls and headed back to the tourist area. @derekcowan joined us for an evening of much drinking and many laughs.

baby flourish.png

Thank you to everyone who made our time in Vietnam special. I'm really encouraged by the enthusiasm and energy of the Vietnamese Steemians. From my American perspective, I'm amazed to see how life-changing the power of Steem actually is. A few posts on Steemit can have a big financial impact! Considering the average low wages earned in Vietnam, Steemit is definitely changing lives. I'm proud to be a part of the Steemit community!

Extra special thanks to @hanggggbeee for the tremendous amount of work that she put into this event, and for taking care of us foreigners.

baby flourish.png

Important: Does anyone know who runs the @newhope account? @hanggggbeeee got a big vote from that account and wanted to send a message. She accidentally clicked on the link that filled in her entire balance. She accidentally sent all of her STEEM! We think that whoever runs @newhope probably doesn't even know it happened. If you happen to know how to contact the account owner, please let them know about this mistake.

hanggggbeeee.jpg

OUCH!

I'm still amazed that @hanggggbeeee didn't let this mistake discourage her.

Sort:  

Thank you @fronttowardenemy for everything. Especially last part. Hahaa.

I hope we'll be able to get the message to @newhope!

Thanks again! We couldn't have asked for a better host!

I’m really impressed that u were able to put exactly my name. hanggggbeeee. 4 g and 4 e. lol. No one can do that.

=))) like me. I always keep counting myself that there are 4 g and 4 e when mentioning your name =)))) lol.

I couldn't be there because of my personal reason. :( Hope to see all of tyou in next meet up ;)

It would have been lovely to meet you, but I know that things in real life often get in the way. I hope to go to another Vietnam meetup soon!

haha. You would if you are determined on that ;)

Great post! You know I love anything with a PowerPoint so this meetup was fun to see! HAHA

Nice! I have been in Hanoi (and other places in Vietnam) too last year! check out my travel blogs:
https://steemit.com/travel/@dominggus/vietnam-1-hanoi-aftermovie
https://steemit.com/travel/@dominggus/vietnam-2-ha-long-bay-hoi-an-aftermovie
https://steemit.com/travel/@dominggus/vietnam-3-hoi-an-animated-gifs-clickable-panoramas
https://steemit.com/travel/@dominggus/vietnam-4-nha-trang-animated-gifs

I am currently writing for VIETNAM #5: easy rider from Nha Trang to Da Lat... so more to come ✌️

It was good meeting you. Nice photos and a great write up. When’s your next adventure?

I'm not sure. I want to change up my living situation so that I won't be paying rent while I'm overseas. Right now I'm thinking that I'd like to head back to Vietnam some time after July or August.

That makes sense!

It's very comfortable to watch. It will keep your eyes on you. Thank you for sharing.

This is my Notification List. If you would like to be added or removed from this list, please reply to this comment.

@iddm1dm
@grr8-one
@doctorcrypto
@beatseb
@achraf7b
@surfdog
@originalworks
@steemchiller
@loveliness0427
@carlgnash
@jaichai

Nice post ☺️

Congratulations @fronttowardenemy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60257.31
ETH 2427.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44