SteemFollower - Should We All Be Using This Service?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

SteemFollower - A New Dimension to Your Steemit Journey

I run a show on the Whaleshares server on Discord called the Promote Your Post show. It is a live event where I invite people to come along and show off one of their posts, so they can grab some extra upvotes and resteems. It was in one of my shows that @reko brought with him a post about the SteemFollower service, which he promoted.

It seemed like an interesting concept but I never found the time to do a follow up, and so left it behind without really looking into it. I was speaking with @reko recently and he happened to mention SteemFollower to me again and how it had really helped his Steemit journey. This time I checked it out and registered. And I am pleased that I did.

The great thing about Steemit, in addition to all of the amazing content and people you can find, is that there are also other add-ons, scripts and services that Steemians create, often in a third party capacity, to give Steemit new dimensions. SteemFollower is a great service I would recommend without hesitation. It can be used to compliment your Steemit experience.

How Does SteemFollower Work?

The way it works is that on registering, which is a very simple process, you join a community of people already on the Steemit platform. SteemFollower uses Steemconnect as the interface, which is a very trusted and secure site. Here you can browse posts from new, old or very established Steemians. Then if you find a post you like you place your vote on it. SteemFollower will then connect to the Steem blockchain and cast your vote on the post. The great thing about SteemFollower is that you will not only earn curation rewards for voting on posts but SteemFollower also gives you points for each vote you give. You are only allowed a certain amount of votes in any 24 hour period, depending on your Steem Power.

DQmdBwZvdpSe8B6gWJDwhLoosN999BML4gRme3yqXE8ez9h.png

These points will either be used by people in the SteemFollower community voting on your posts, so it's like a form of advertising. SteemFollower will display your latest post. The post that will receive the vote will be your last edited post. Or you can use SteemFollower's internal market and sell your points for SBD.

Putting SteemFollower In Context

It is important to note that the SteemFollower service is not an upvote bot or booster bot. It is an entirely separate interface that connects to the Steem blockchain and offers a service all of its own, where you collect points in addition to curation rewards.

SteemFollower should not be used as the only place for sharing your votes. Obviously there are only a limited amount of people using the SteemFollower service compared with members in the Steemit community, although SteemFollower is constantly expanding its reach with 14,585 registered users now.

However, there is no reason why the service can not be used in conjunction with the Steemit platform. That is what I do. SteemFollower has in effect created a parallel system of vote giving. In fact the service has helped me use my vote power much more than I would have done without it. SteemFollower has made me realise how much I never used my vote power and what a waste that was.

The service was conceived by @mahdiyari. He has also set up the Steemians network on Discord where you can approach moderators or other SteemFollower users for help and assistance. You can also directly speak to @mahdiyari if you need further assistance. A link to the Steemian chat server is here https://discord.gg/h6DKj6c.

If you want to sign up use this link - https://steemfollower.com/?r=11007. Here is a very quick explanation of how the service works, check out the video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=vFWIbms0r8s

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Thank you for this informations nice to know.

I am also a great fan of steemfollower. In fact I came to this post through steemfollower.
😀

Hey @katteasis, thanks for stopping by. Yes it's a great service and more people should use it.

I've been using steemfollower for a few months now and like it. I vote on minnow posts with low payouts that look good. I'm not using a big vote, but I know any vote is encouraging when you are new. I am of the belief that steemit needs millions of users to succeed instead of the less that 10K "people who matter" that are here now.

acrange stats.PNG

The issue I have with steemfolloweris this. There is some way in there to boost your post to the top - I'm not sure how since I have never done it. But I see the same "big people" boosting their posts in there frequently. However, as far as I know, I have never received any votes from any of them. I am not saying my posts are great or worthy, but you would think that in all this time a few nice votes would come for that place. Instead I mostly get 100% votes with low power and no sp.

Back in late December, I checked about 20 posts that had $3-$10 payouts shown in steemfollower. None of these had votes from those big guys either. So I wonder why they use the service at all when they already have $100+ payouts showing.

I'm still going to use it because it is an easy way for me to find and encourage little minnows. Maybe I'm missing something but my spidey sense goes off on this one.

Hey @fitinfun, I'm still very new to Steemfollower so I'm afraid I can't answer your question, however you raise an interesting point. Why don't you try asking @reko?

Well, I'm kind of running on empty and working like crazy. If big people don't want to vote for the little ones, I mostly put it on ignore.

I hope you have better luck over there - I have the same issue with steemengine as well, but I still go in to support the tiny minnows :)

Hey I've been using steemfollower ever since I joined the platform. Just now as I wanted to go on it, this is what came up:
steemfollower.JPG
Does anybody know what this is/ what to do with it/ how to get on the steemfollower website again?
Your help'd be appreciated! :)

You have to say yes to that and login with your steemit password. That is the limit of what I know about it.

I love Steemfollower! Been using it almost the entire time I have been on Steemit. It definitely helps get your posts seen by more people.

Sounds like a cool service, going to check it out. Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14