You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: META Steemit: writing English posts as a non-native English speaker

in #steemit6 years ago

Interesting subject!
I can only write in English and to my native language which is Greek, so I didn’t have a lot of choices. The thing is that I was never fluent in English and on top of that it has been twenty years since the last time I wrote in that language! So my writing in steemit is a real challenge!
First of all it takes a lot of time and second I always have this feeling that I am making a lot of mistakes or that my writing sounds silly. Unfortunately I don’t have any friends that English is their mother tongue, to give me some feedback but I have often thought that I should find, at least one :)

Sort:  

That's a very relatable experience @fotostef! I'm super proud of you to take on the challenge of writing in English after 20 (!) years!

It takes more time and it sucks to publish a piece you feel 'could have been better' if it were written in your own language... Although English is my second language, feel free to contact me if you need feedback on a piece you REALLY want to be corrected before publishing! I'll see what I can do and/or find someone to look at it for you :D

Oh, by the way, is there a Greek writing community on Steemit @fotostef?

Thank you so much for your kind words and for your super kind offer :)
I don’t really know about Greek writing community, my interest in steemit was in photography from day one so it never crossed my mind to look for a Greek community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86