FlaminGirl's tips for learning a new language fast! 🇦🇺steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi my steemians friends!

I'm french and I live in Barcelona since September. So, I need to speak Spanish every day and English with you! ;).
I really love foreign languages!
Sometimes I think in French, I speak Spanish and I dream in English! But I learn more words every day.

Today, I want to share with you my tips and tricks for learning a new language fast!

1. Watch movies and series in original version

It's the best way to learn while having fun! You find a series that you like and you watch an episode every day. You will see that your language will improve. At first, you will read the subtitles, then you will understand without the subtitles.
When I was aupair in the United States, I watched cartoons with the children I was guarding. Honestly, it helped me a lot!
Now, I watch Devious Maids original version subtitled French ;)


source

2. Listen to music and watch television

While you are cooking, working, cleaning, driving ... You can turn on the tv or the radio and subconsciously your brain will record words and information. This technique helps me a lot with my pronunciation and usual expressions.
You can also learn the lyrics of the songs you like. For a long time I sang songs whose meaning I did not know and now everything becomes clearer. I rediscover my favorite music ...! Sometimes I'm a little... disappointed XD


source


source

3. Join a linguistic exchange group

Since I live in Barcelona, I registered on the site "Meetup". It is a site that offers outings, activities. And among these activities, there are language exchange groups. It's super friendly and free!
I invite you to come speak different languages at my next meeting Steemit in Barcelona.


source

4. Use different tools

Such as internet lessons, language exchange forums, dictionary and translators to learn new words every day. Carry a dictionary (physical or app) at all times you will save you a lot of time and frustration!


source

5. Drink alcohol

This is not a joke!
Scientists believe that a small alcohol dose can help reduce the stress. They do not know if it is a biological or psychological effect. But it's true that after 1 or 2 drinks, you are more comfortable to speak right? Of course, if you drink the whole bottle, it does not work anymore! XD


source

In summary,

learning new languages ​​can be really fun if you do it while having fun! ;). Immersing yourself in a language means doing all of the activities you would normally do in your native tongue, through your new language -- whether that's reading, writing or listening.
Don't worry about grammar. If you want to learn a language quickly, you should learn how to converse first. The specifics of grammar will come later. Don't be afraid to make mistakes!
Let's go my friends! ;)

I hope you enjoyed this post. If you have other ideas, feel free to share by writing a comment!

Thank you for your support and see you soon for a new theme! ;)

Sort:  

I really love all the diversity there is in the world and how there are hundreds of different languages to be learned. I would love to learn so many languages like Spanish, German, Chinese but it is so difficult just to start learning one language. Recently, I decided to take Spanish clases in school because I simply love the language and it's one of the most romantic languages (along with french of course). I can tell you it's quite a challenge but I'm loving every second of it :D
Thanks for the insight flamingirl, I think I'll go watch El Chapo on netflix now. I'm learning a language...not binge watching XD

So do I!
Thanks for your nice comment @inspirationalrag !
I think the most romantic language is Italian! I understand but I do not speak. I would like to learn later;).
Qué es "El chapo" ?? No conozco... ^^
Un saludo de Barcelona ! ;)

I also watched Devious Maids, I loved that TV show! You're right about all those tools you use to learn a language, I'd just add listening to audiobooks, that's also a really useful one :)

I love Devious Maids! Good idea my friend! Thanks!

I recently started learning Japanese. I couldn't believe how easy this language is to learn. Thank you for the great tips.

super article

Merciiii ! ;)

Very interesting and usefull. You have my upvote and follow, maybe you could check out my profile I would really appreciate it.

Sure! Thanks a lot my friend! ;)

nice that this psot is doing so well, like the content! good job

Thanks a lot my friend ! ;)

Sounds so familiar!
Last year I was also busy with speaking Dutch at home, speaking English at work and trying to learn Spanish outside.
Netflix helped me out a lot with this, and soooooo true: so drinking with Spanish friends. You stop overthinking your Spanish sentences and just go for it!

Very recognizable haha

Netflix is life! es la vida! and Vodka too!!!!
Netflix + Vodka = The solution hahahaha
Thanks for your comment @karinxxl !

intersting tips . thanks for sharing

Thank you so much @youk95!

great tips... im also learning Spanish and i find apps are a useful tool for beginners!!!

thank you my dear friend :) so cutee

You're welcome my nice friend! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82