Using Steemit to sponsor and set up a small esports tournament (Link to vote on the first game inside)

in #steemit7 years ago

I commented on a @steemsports post about their new site, saying that it would be cool to be able to bet on esports through Steemit. That got me thinking.

Steemit Sponsored Tournaments

We could set up an online tournament where the winners share a prizepool made out of earnings raised from posts promoting and reporting on the tournament. As a community I reckon we could easily raise ~ $500, while that will not match any of the big tournaments with their 7 figure payouts, this is still esports, we will get teams willing to sign up and compete for that. And as Steemit grows so could our tournament.

Which Games

I think it would be best to concentrate on one game at first and if that's successful we can expand.

I have set up a Straw Poll at strawpoll.me to let you guys vote.

Tournament Format

Was envisioning a monthly tournament where teams compete online in a knockout structure until the final 4 at which point we start to hype those games up, doing a twitch stream for the final games. And that's where we start to see a return on our investment in the form of advertisement.

Advertisement Benefits

As mentioned above, imagine a monthly tournament on Twitch with Steemit highlighted on the screen, and a blurb under the video explaining what Steemit is. If you look at the demographic of Twitch users (young and tech savvy) I think it meshes well with Steemit users.

When Can We Start

As it would be an online tournament we could get things together fairly quickly, maybe have our first tournament by the end of January. with preliminaries the 2nd last week. It may take a few months to get the a bit of momentum going though.

Funding

If this idea takes off I was thinking of setting up a new account and use that for all the future post about and for the tournament. The liquid currency raised could be used for the prize pools and the SP raised could be used to reward the contributors I will need to run this, i.e commentators, post editors, etc. On this front I will be looking for advise from accounts that have done similar things.


As mentioned if this takes off I will need help, I reckon I could commentate on Dota, CSGO or Rocket League but I find all the good commentary takes 2, so will need volunteers. But for now the biggest help would be some comments to help flesh out this idea. If you think this idea has merit consider resteeeming it.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84