Let's Talk—Which Social Media Do You Use The Most After Joining Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago


Source

Ever since I discovered Steemit my time spent on alternative social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram has significantly reduced. In fact on most days I'm likely to be surfing through Steemit looking for some interesting content that may spark an idea in me for a post or an activity I'd like to do.

Ofcourse, this doesn't imply that I don't use FB. I'm very active on Facebook but maybe I spend a little less time there. It's still a great place for connecting with your friends and family. The potential for networking and marketing yourself or a product is very high on Facebook.

Steemit is fast growing and offers a great range of content. You can search these by tags: https://steemit.com/tags. Steem based applications such as Steepshot has made it easier to convince people to use our blockchain technology over products that offer no return for your effort. For a majority of users they don't generate engagement in the thousands on these social media. Sure, it's probably the same on Steemit.

But here there is a good chance that you might earn some money. For many that's a motivating factor I would assume to use this platform over anything else. However, we're still a long way to go from mass adoption and that too will happen over the course of time.

Steemit has a long way to go from becoming an authoritative site from a quality of content perspective. That's the argument I hear sometimes from people that there isn't a lot of quality stuff here. But, probably because we aren't quite there yet-in front of the audience we want to attract.

Meanwhile, I wanted to do a poll via comments with my readers and find out in 2018 which platform you prefer to use the most and why. Maybe the responses will give me new ideas when I approach people to onboard them to Steemit.

Let's hear it!


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Watch This Fun Video From India Steem Meetup #1—Jaipur Edition!
  2. Crossed 17000+ Followers-A Few Thoughts As I Work Towards 20000 Milestone!
  3. Steemit.Chat Contest #14 + Contest #13 Winners Announcement!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

I stopped using FB when they started policing "fake news," and got all political. Haven't used Twitter in a while. Like yourself, I find myself spending much more time on Steemit these days.

Agreed, Facebook has had more than 1 major issues and I’m just waiting for the days when the masses realize that they can benefit from their own hard work rather than line the pockets of facebook!

I was always a facebook guy and I still am. Steemit is not like any other social media in my opinion from tge sole reason - my friends arent here. It is a place to write and also make some steem.

you are right but all of friends are mine join steemit. And this place is for learning too.

Steemit has swallowed all my social media time.

I visit more youtube after steemit and facebook, twitter, linkedin.
Steemit is my favorite for now.

Steemit kinda put me out there to grow and write more.
Keep on steemit.

1- I am NOT a Facebook fan long time ago even before I joined steem ( strange guy huh?!)
2- Twitter is my second social media to get quick info for trading.
3- Even YouTube which I follow many who talk about crypto, some of them joined steemit , and the rest I send them messages encouraging them to join steemit.

Who do you follow on twitter? I have been looking for more opinions on crypto :)

1- All official accounts for coins I hold or I am thinking to get into.
2- some of the famous persons in crypto like jimmy song and Charles shrem and so on

I used to be actively involved with Facebook until I started with steemit a few months and since then the time I used to spend on other social media has been reduced considerably.

I can say the same for a number of my friends too.

This 2018 I'd love to spend a lot of time on the steem blockchain. Why? I get paid for my time on here.

Honestly speaking, I was very active on Facebook. I used to write on different topics. No likes, comments or share. I'd have got one or two likes or comments if I was lucky enough.

Then I got Steemit. I'm not exaggerating a bit. I almost stopped logging into my account. I was literally pissed off seeing only selfies, birthday pics, honeymoon pics, marriage pics, new home, new car, new bike, etc. etc. No information sharing, no personal opinion on any burning topics. Everyone wants to be politically correct. No controversial opinion. Everything censored and centralised.

Thnx to STEEMIT

I still use Facebook as you can’t restrict access to Steem posts and I won’t put pictures of my family without being able to restrict who sees them!

Great post and question @firepower. I personally have (near) completely switched over to Steemit full-time. I use Snapchat to regularly connect with friends and I use Instagram lightly to follow friends and influencers I like. Steemit though is something that I open constantly throughout the day. If I’m looking to interact with the community and read something interesting, I open Steemit and browse my favorite tags (usually the Steem, crypto, or travel tags). Im also curious to hear other people’s daily habits on social. I imagine that many of us here have similarly switched to using Steemit more than any other platform. Thanks for opening this poll, should be super interesting!!!

Steem is my favorite tag too....i think we should term this steemdiction, because my friend i must confess, im addicted to this community

Hahaha I would be on board with steemdiction! To call Steemit an addiction for me is an understatement 👀

I agree. My Facebook usage has dwindled since joining here a couple of July's ago, but I still use FB quite a bit because not all of my friends/family are on Steemit. In fact, 99.9% of the people I personally know aren't. So of course I'll still be hanging out on FB. And that's okay because I find I don't necessarily want to post everything I post from Steemit onto Facebook too, and vice versa. They're 2 totally different audiences. It's the same for Twitter, in fact. I have a totally different follower base there than I do here and than I do on FB, so it's almost like 3 different worlds.

I don't use any social media anymore, they are all scams, I tell me friends that if they want to connect with me, they should all join steemit where we can all benefit from it. Though I can spen little time on twitter and facebook but with the aim of promoting steemit.

I like your way of thinking about social! Why make Facebook and other platform owners rich when we can all benefit from our own hard work!! I still use some other socials just because I have some friends who refuse to switch, but I’m slowly coming off of them, hopefully 2018 can be the year when I can ditch other platforms completely!

I also have friends and family who would not make the switch so I try to bounce back and forth between steemit and all other social media. Eventually the blockchain will take over all of the other SM such as Snapchat, Twitter, FB, IG, etc. When that time comes I will join those as well

agree ! you have my upvote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46