Steemit Improvement Proposal ( regarding mention-notification )steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I like the notifications.

They are still a bit buggy, because I sometimes get them twice.

But what should be an easy fix:

Don't notify me, when I mention myself:

I know @felixxx mentioned @felixxx, because I'm @felixxx :)

Thank you for your attention.

Sort:  

You are receiving notifications when somebody mentiones you? I will have that, too! Where can I order it?? :-)) Seriously, I haven´t ever seen it.

Use chrome and make sure to log out completely delete cookies and cache, then visit the site, press F5 to force a refresh and log back in.
Also works a treat on chrome for Android with the bonus of it seems to notify even if the tab is closed.

or use firefox, fuck chorme, it's more ram heavy and I'm not sure it offers anything on top , there are so much addons for firefox the google market can just walk away, yeah most of the addones ae available for chrome too , but fireox is a old and gold browser where chrome is google 2.0

Chromium has none of that and it's what I use. Firefox is bloated, slow and loves to install extra spyware junk like "pocket"

well i never use them but ok i see your point, anyway chromium is google so you are freely using their databases and being a part of it, so no need to spy on you , you are freely "sharing" ,as for firefox yes, they have moved away from what was their "goal" and it shows, still can't find a better browser and with some back end understanding it works like a charm. I like it for the "past" it was better than IE and a great browser now its ok , but still good , until it openly does what you've said.

What is that pocket btw , never used it but it's there , a bag of bookmarks and such ?

I'm using chrome ...
No extra plugins or anything ...

I think it should work for everybody (?)

Interesting.... I´ll change my browser though! Thanks :)

I was thinking the same thing! I haven't seen any notifications either and I'm already using chrome...

When I opened chrome there was a little popup asking me if I wanted to agree on notifications from steemit. Maybe you have to log-out and log-in again and then activate it.

Hmm good idea, I'll try that!

yes then you get a cookie that redirects mentions to your feed , the problem for me is I'm using a PC and have 20 ++ tabs open of steemit :D so those notifications might actually get out of hand :D

I'd actually open this as an issue over in the github repo. It seems more like a bug report than an enhancement request.

Github is so scary ...

I know the octocat thing is creepy and all that but...
https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/issues/new
Is the only place any of the devs are going to see this.

oh so that is what they are for :D , a separate page would be great like the comments, although i would tax the chain probably , so they put it up with the UI , anyway , at least I know what they are now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43