You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Question For The Steemit Community

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Simply put, Steemit is currently censored in a way ... it is by whale votes. The majority of posts are not seen or read unless they receive a whale stamp of approval.

They seem to be working towards ways to improve this moving forward.

One thing to remember is Steemit is still in beta and extremely new. I guess if people want to quit before seeing a final version even, that is up to them.

Personally, I only have time to loose at this point as I haven't invested any personal income into steemit "yet"

As to flagging, I don't think being flagged does a whole hell of a lot unless, again, it is by a whale vote.

Sort:  

@fat-like-buddha, my sentiments exactly. Except as of yesterday now I have time and personal income as I invested in some Steem power. With the price of steem this low I figure my odds are worth it....actually posted about it today. The odds alone make it a good gamble at worst.

When one single downvote makes a post transparent with no photos, it has a lot of effect. I understand its still beta but with the numbers of people I watch quit daily because of this crap it will not have new users when it is out of beta because word is already spreading about the flagging. I watched someone that has 50k followers on youtube leave after 2 hours on steemit because of the flagging. that's 50k new members that wont be joing now and she is going to put steemit on blast on her pod casts because of how she was treated.
I don't feel that the steemit community is doing anything about it eather. like you all are accepting it becaus its a whale flagging people.

I didn't say I accepted anything, just to be clear. I just eluded to the fact I personally will probably stick around and let Steemit grow a little bit before I jump to judgment or ship.

I have been lurking, reading and posting a little over a month now, and I think they have changed how flagging once or twice already in that time frame. It is a little bit of trial and error.

I firmly believe there needs to be either a flag option or a downvote option to hold people accountable. Implementing a system where people can't over use or abuse it would be ideal.

if not accepting it, then what can be done to stop it? waiting around while the flaggers get more steem power (to flag more) while the new members are leaving like flys because of the flagging isn't going to stop? by the time steemit is out of beta the flaggers are going to have so much more power then they do now. problem will only be worse by then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68245.80
ETH 2509.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52