Eating And Sleeping...Optional? Yes, Seriously...

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Ok, so I know what you're probably thinking...

I NEED to EAT. I NEED to SLEEP.


But, what if this just weren't true.

Perhaps you just THINK that you need food and perhaps you just THINK that you need rest.

Okay, so what am I talking about and what is all of this 'nonsense' that I speak of?

Well, with accelerating exponential technologies approaching fast and changing the very nature of how we live, work, and play... it may not be so crazy to think that we will also have the option to choose how or whether we eat or sleep too.

Ray Kurzweil, technological futurist, and his friend and co-founder of Singularity University, Peter Diamandis, seem to suggest that technology is about to make all of this possible.


So, what would this look like?

Well, I'll just brainstorm out loud here what this could possibly look like and how it might become possible.
So, here goes...

My initial thoughts are this:

EATING...Optional?


Would people WANT a product that would give them the option to live healthier where eating were optional?
If so, HOW MUCH would people pay to have this option if there were no negative down-sides and could make them healthier?

Why do people eat?
Just to name a few reasons...
Well, eating is necessary to provide nutrients and energy that help keep us alive.
Eating is also a very social activity, so perhaps we still might want to eat in our normal fashion too.

Are there times and circumstances where we would want eating to be optional?
SAVE TIME: Well, eating can be time consuming and let's face it, not all of us are great cooks.
SAVE MONEY: Eating can also be costly.
So, perhaps if we could save time and money by purchasing a product that would give us the option to eat, we might consider it.

SLEEPING...Optional?


Would people WANT a product that would give them the option to live with more energy, never get tired, and never require sleep?
If so, HOW MUCH would people pay to have this option if there were no negative down-sides and could provide them with more energy to live life?

Why do people sleep?
Just to name a few reasons...
We get tired and need rest.
Plus, it's fun to have pleasant dreams.

Are there times and circumstances where we would want sleeping to be optional?
SAVE TIME: Sleeping is almost 1/3 of our lives where we aren't active and enjoying life.
MORE LIVING: If we didn't need sleep, then perhaps we would use this extra time and energy to achieve more of our dreams and check more things off our bucket list.


*** This is just an initial brainstorm. ***
I'm sure that we could think of a lot of valuable uses for this, so I'll let you chime in too.


Ok, so is this really possible?


Well, I believe that anything is possible and the best way to predict the future, is to create it.
As an entrepreneur, I am personally interested in working to help create a world of abundance for everyone.
I never imagined as a child that one day that I would seriously be considering creating products or companies that help give humans the option of eating or sleeping, but I guess I am, lol

So, my thoughts are that there will likely be two major camps of people.
Some who embrace these technological advances and those who do not. While I may help to create products or companies that provide humans with new choices for living, I believe that it will be a personal decision as to whether an individual actually wants to or doesn't want to adopt these new possibilities. So, the choice is yours.


2 possible routes to make this our new reality -->>

Biology vs. Technology

You might be thinking, "I'm never putting technology inside me!"

It may take us a little time to adapt our thinking and getting used to putting technology inside us, merge with us, and perhaps eventually become indistinguishable from us.
This raises the age-old questions of "Who Am I?", "What Am I?", "Why Am I?" - I'm not going to address these existential / spiritual questions here, but I do think that technological advances will force us to really inquire within ourselves the very nature of our existence and identity.
We are all part of this. Have fun with life. Know God. Have Faith.

Technology seems to be speeding up, not slowing down...


Technology seems to be getting faster, smaller, smarter, and cheaper.
The first computers took up entire rooms, cost a bunch of dough, and weren't all that helpful. Nowadays, much has changed. Computers moved from our desktop to our tablets to our phones and even to our wristwatches...so, what's next after this wearable phase?
Some are suggesting that we'll soon see...The "Inside-ables" (Machines that no longer exist outside of our being, but actually live inside of us).

To some, this might seem scary at first. Do not be afraid.
So, it's important to remind everyone that it will always be there own personal choice as to whether they adopt these technologies.
However, if you go to the doctor and need a heart transplant or a defibrillator in order to stay alive, are you going to say no?

BIOLOGICAL & TECHNOLOGICAL:


I think we should pursue both a biological solution to making eating and sleeping optional as well as a non-biological (or technological) solution to making eating and sleeping optional.

Again, you don't have to agree with this.
Anyways, if you actually ever want to use these products when they become available, that's your choice.

I'm merely brainstorming to begin the discussion and connect with others who are actually interested in creating these solutions.
Let's assume this new company offers one completely biological solution to help us make eating or sleeping optional and also offers one completely non-biological (technological) solution.

----- *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** -----

So, is this really possible and what would it take?

I believe the answer is "YES".
All it takes is vision, perseverance, and teamwork.
Teamwork makes the Dreamwork.

So, if the end goal is to make Eating and Sleeping optional, while at the same time enhancing and optimizing our lives, then we will need to seek to create products that reach this goal.
It will likely require some working capital ($$) and a team of experts working together to create and market these solutions to the public.

To me, the dynamics of starting any company is pretty much the same. The products come and go meaning that what we offer may be different, but the process of creating, marketing, and delivering that solution is pretty much the same.


So, here's just an initial start of what I think we will need to get this moving from just an idea into manifested reality.
We'll need:
**1) Investors: people who can help contribute $$

  1. Skills: people who can provide the expertise
  2. Leaders: people who can keep things on track and moving towards the goal**

Here are my thoughts on these:

We all work as a team!


Only as a team, will we succeed...AND we will succeed if we work together as a team, persevere, and never stop until we reach the goal!

  1. Investors: There are many ways to raise capital (from Angels, VCs, Crowdfunding, Peers, etc.)
    -- So, if you have money or want to be part of the team who helps us attract money, then let me know and let's get started. Whoever steps up to help raise capital, we will need leaders who are running this part of the company ensuring that we always have sufficient capital to fuel the vision.

  2. Skills:
    So, if you have the skills that could help us create, market, and deliver these solutions, then let me know and let's get started. Whoever steps up to help create, market, and deliver these solutions, we will need leaders who are capable of running these areas of the company. I imagine that many of us will be working remotely, but perhaps we may decide that some will work in a physical location.

  3. Leaders:
    "The speed of the lead determines the pace of the race."
    The more leaders that we have, the better.
    I will initially take the lead (and have done so by writing this post and putting forth a vision and suggesting simple solutions as well as noting the importance of the team). I eventually hope to work with other leaders and to delegate whatever is needed to more and more leaders within the company.

***With that being said, I am a serial entrepreneur and envision growing many, many companies in the future.
So, I envision more and more of us working together. The team will just continue to grow. The products, services, and solutions will continue to expand.

The BIGGER we THINK, The FASTER we ACT, The MORE we can HELP!


Checkout: Together, Let's Build The Fastest Growing Company EVER!!!

So, yeah - I plan to do BIG Things to help people. This idea of providing a solution to make eating or sleeping optional is merely just one idea. I have many, many other ideas for many, many other companies that I hope will be able to help a lot of people and help to create a world of abundance 4 everyone!

There's just one catch...

I need your help!!!
I can't do this alone.
I value each and every one of you and I appreciate your time and efforts to help me create a world of abundance 4 everyone.


If you are interested in helping me create a world of abundance 4 everyone!, then I encourage you to check out my other posts, connect with me via Steemit Chat, follow me @fast2future, or connect with me elsewhere.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/fast2future
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKrFglBOI-Efx7I9RI8wRvg
Email: [email protected]

Sort:  

One guaranteed way to drive anyone insane is to NOT let them sleep. Typically after 72 hours they begin to hallucinate, then it only get's worse.

Yes hallucinations get increasingly vivid until the adaptation stage levels out and then after that I personally found they wore off and the dreams became full color vivid experiences. As well as awake time seemed to be very "high" and dream like.

that's because you are high.
sad thing isn't it?
People spend all that money on drugs when they could get the same effect just by staying awake for a few days.
Of course then they might die...but they run the same risk with drugs.

Personally, I love to eat and sleep, but I've always found it burdensome to have to eat and sleep. I'll be the first to buy such products once they're shown to be safe. That is, if I can afford them. As it currently sits however, @everittdmickey is correct, you will literally lose your mind if you don't sleep for long enough.

Hey @fast2future, nice post I appreciate your mind and intentions friend. Thanks for the follow, I'm now following back.

Ok so in 2013 and friend and I carried out a polyphase sleep experiment on ourselves, loosely modeling the nazi uberman study and heavily integrating meditation and dream work.

I found myself studying how we may manipulate our melatonin levels to assist lucid dreaming experiences as well as what effects heightened hormone production levels would have?

There was no other way I could directly find out for myself and I had no fixed expectations or goals initially. We simply just wanted to see what could happen.

I ended up progressing to a 21 hour awake cycle (3hrs waking/30min active meditation/30 sleep dream/repeat) for over a month. I stopped the experiement after I lost a huge clump of hair from my crown in 3 big lumps over three consecutive nights.

It was enough to scare me back into my body and the bald patches stayed for a number of months. None of the signs of symptoms for sudden hair loss matched what happened to me.

In hind sight I feel that if I had more knowledge and perhaps supplemented super-foods like spirulina or anything actually, things could have been different.

I may add I have also been daily sungazing and vegan for a number of years, not specifically in preparation for this however I do believe it has a big influence on my results.

I have it all documented in vlog format and will probably reupload them sometime. However there were lots of incredible realizations during this experience that left me with more questions than answers.

There are so many aspect of this that fascinate me and since then I have had much better success since, by doing things intermittently. Both with polyphase as well as fasting.

I'll be interested to keep an eye out for your future posts.

Wholeness.

Very interesting concepts here, especially with regard to the fact that eating often has so many other purposes than simply refueling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70