You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can ~Anybody~ Out There, *Please* HELP Me? Desperately Seeking Editability...

in #steemit7 years ago

Have you thought of maybe hosting these lists on a different platform? Google docs, perhaps? It would just be a list of links and ideas, right? Then you can just link to them off Steemit Site, no biggie. I understand with the urge to want to change those things you have now, but probably not likely it will happen.

For myself, I don't think other people can see it I use wri.pe to make lists and draft posts for my Steemit posts because it supports Markdown.

But for your lists, the best option would be to use an offsite tool.

Sort:  

Greetings, @farmstead,

and Thank You very much for your very thoughtful and constructive comments.

I do presently use various "ad-hoc" tools to do my editing and maintain my various lists, and etc., "offline"...

And, yes, I have in fact considered the alternative of other web hosts for the purposes I've described in this article... I may actually be forced into attempting it one day!

However, even if I ever do "go external," I will consider it a very temporary measure. Why?

I am counting on the promise of what I hope will be the "archival quality" of the Steemit blockchain. In the long run, I don't really trust Google or other "off-Steemit" platforms.

While I do myself maintain hosted web presences in other places where I could conceivably set up such link files, I am also looking towards a more distant future in which I will not be around (i.e. I'll be dead) to pay for and maintain those sites. I would like my progeny and any "audience" I may eventually develop to be able to access and read my writing in perpetuity.

And so, for the long term, I want to have my indices and other tools right here on the Steemit blockchain.

Nevertheless, thank you so very much for your terrific suggestions!

😄😇😄

@creatr

I'm sorry, I must have missed that part!

NO apologies necessary! I appreciate you!

And, BTW, Thank You for the Re-Steem! ;)

Here I was all proud that I could tell someone you said something in your post, and here I go, not fully reading. Hahaha How embarrassing! Hahahaha.

Of course! There are so many features I think that Steemit could use right now, and this is a good suggestion! I don't see any reason in not allowing a post to be edited since it cannot gain any more earnings anyhow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58116.56
ETH 2361.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42