Steemit is not always fair, here's how to be on the winning side

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys and welcome to a new article, in these last few days I explained how failure is so much easier than success on Steemit. There are a couple of reasons for that! I highly recommend you to read the article, you will find many useful pieces of advice and tips (https://steemit.com/steemit/@fancybrothers/how-to-suck-at-steemit).

Many users (Including me at some point) think that Steemit is not fair! Well, that's true but to a certain extent, in this post, I will explain why and how to profit from the situation.

Before you begin judging everybody and everything you need to understand a couple of things. Many of the trending posts you find are not really that exceptional but only because they got so many upvotes. Why is that?

The Era of Bid bots:

Although many whales are experts in using bid bots, many new users don't know about them. Well bid bots are accounts with lots of voting power, you pay them an amount of SBD or steem and they divide their votes between the buyers. Theoretically, you can make money with bid bots but you are missing the whole point of using them in the first place! Bid bots are used to promote the posts until they hit the trending pages so that the post is more likely to get viewed and voted, 'steembottracker.com ' is the best site out there to choose a bid bot. You will find many choices and different offers but that's not our subject.

Honestly, I'm against the random use of bid bots because so many garbage posts make it to the trending page, I mean you find a 200-word article talking about absolute "shit" with 100 USD and you're busting your ass to deliver some good content and nobody gives a fuck? That's totally unfair but sadly true, just like Kim Kardashian, everyone is praising her while those who are changing the world (for the better) don't get any credit, that's the same concept just on a different scale, accept it and move on!

I'm not an angel, I've used them before, I just want to make more money and increase my reputation like everyone else.

It works at the beginning but in the long run, you will lose money and readers, the last part is 1000 times worse because this is a blogging site, after all, we want people to read our content.

I even noticed a movement rising in the last weeks against the use of bid bots, the only time you should use bid bots is when you feel that you have written a really good post and it needs to be on the trending page, but trust me on this one people have high quality standards especially whales.

The whole point is to know the difference between a good written, well-deserved post and a bad-boosted one, whales love good content and we owe them for any kind of support, just make your posts worthy enough and someone will recognize sooner or later but it will take some patience.

United Killer Whales:

Many whales on Steemit support each other and that's perfectly normal ! because if you are a big investor or a great author, you want to be recognized on Steemit in order to continue creating good content or investing money, in both cases you are contributing in the growth of the platform. It's good for Steemit!

But It gets worst when low-quality content is supported consistently. Whales become richer and the platform loses many users. @haejin is a famous crypto-analyst on the platform, he posts about 10 posts with 200 word and gets a minimum of 100 USD in each post, that's 20.000 a week (I am not criticizing, I am just stating facts). It just seems unfair, he sure has some good analytics but the amount of effort spent and the earnings are just crazy! many others spent hours making one good article and they get 0 credits and the guy posts 10 each day! You wonder how he gets so many earnings? Well, I noticed (I might be wrong) that one huge crypto-investor keeps voting him consistently regardless of the content of the post.

In other cases, many whales know each other in real life, so they support each other every time. If you are not one of these guys, your only way to the top is creating good content and attracting whales who really want to promote the platform before everything.

There's is even communities that look for good content to support them like @curie, @steemiteducation, and @steemstem, so it's not always a "jungle" like you think, we have a lot of great people here.

The Bright Side Of Things:

Talking from a personal experience, I didn't get huge earnings on Steemit, maybe I will not make anything from this post but that never was my goal, I have a decent job as a doctor and I'm totally satisfied with my financial state but of course I want to earn extra bucks and in the long run, I want to get rich but you know what's more important ? readers and followers, let me convince you..

Steemit is still a new project, it's been in beta like forever but I see a bright future for this platform, you know why Facebook had such a huge success? because it's a social media, the key word here is social.

Steem is not just a simple coin like any other crypto, we're the only blockchain that creates its own traffic. If the price skyrocket, you have pretty good chances of becoming rich easily ! When that happens, those with more readers will be the most successful not the ones that used to make more! Be consistent, write good content and don't ever get discouraged! You will be appreciated before you know it.

Many successful bloggers, at first, spent hours creating quality content and they got only a couple of views? Did they get discouraged? Absolutely not! they kept working hard over and over until they obtained a good audience.

Have you ever heard of the snowball effect? It's when something keeps increasing at a faster and faster rate over time, just like rolling a snowball down a hill. This concept could be applied on Steemit. At first, It's going to be a long way towards success but it gets easier over time, and then when you get recognized your earnings will increase dramatically. Thus, don't get discouraged if you're having a rough start.

No matter how unfair the platform looks, it's really not! it's just how things work, my advice is to be patient and seek followers/readers instead of a couple of bucks, that's what really matters in the long run.

Thank you for taking the time to read my article and feel free to leave an upvote if it was helpful, also I'm more of "a science guy": I write on different subjects from time to time here is my last article:

Welcome To The World Of Genetics!

Sort:  

I can't argue with what you have put up here. I pretty much have the same opinion as you regards the site and it's future potential. Since we are still at the beta stage now is the time to build your following and reputation before the blockchain becomes mainstream and everything gets diluted.
When that happens the people who have put in the groundwork will be at a huge advantage.

You got it right ! we might even see it sooner than we think, we have a great future here..

The relationships you have in the communities is important, but there are few projects to cure quality content, whatever they may be, depending on the communities, a fundamental factor is the voting power of those who follow you, you can have 200 real followers but the sp of the accounts does not generate value, and even then you can pass unnoticed.
It's not just making quality content, you can spend hours trying to do it, it's commenting and socializing on different platforms like steemit, slack, discord, reddit, or other social networks, and always look for people with high sp to win Relevance within the community, or being part of communities supporting people, becomes quite relevant when you are part of a project that may not have much power, but has members, everything depends on the perspective you want to see.
I try to show quality content, I know that I do not have a great talent but it passes unnoticed, little by little I gain followers.

That's an interesting point of view,but you miss something here,it's not always about high SP, even small followers can become very influencal in the long run. every reader and every follower you get is improving just like the way you are, so maybe after a year or two, you will be followed by a couple of whales ! About social interactions, i'm totally with you, in my previous post i've talked about it, you can always check it out if you want :)

I agree with this completely. I've been on here for a few months now and I try to post only the best content that I have. I do photography and video. I post all of my work and videos that I spend alot of time on to make and im now around the point of getting usually around 50 cents or so and I see other posts of just crap content getting hundreds of dollars. Now im not in this for the money but I wont lie, the money aspect does help. I hope to be able to go full time on here making content and videos and such but I know it wont happen anytime soon. All I can do it try my best to make great content and hope in time it gets upvoted enough and I gain enough followers to reach my goals.

Keep going man, dont give up yet , I really believe that steem will burst in the future and u will not be sorry ;) we' re building something here

Thanks for your amazing work in steemit, I like your blog so much and your youtube channel is good as well. I have a big group in facebook and I provide a good service to steemians and I need partners now, you like like to join our team to help us provide people with better upvote and you also can earn from that, please if you are interested read about our Partnership program.

Thanks for post

Haha @fancybrothers, without trying to impress you, this is one of the few post that should be on the trending ,but to be realistic, alot are just looking for money and not quality content. This post ,am sure will help alot of minnow and planktons. Thanks for sharing this information.

Thanks a lot @steepup but things don't work like that and as i said:

Maybe I will not make anything from this post
but that never was my goal

I can understand that many users want to make money, so am I.But planktons should know what really matters in this platform, anyway we're building something special here and i'm glad you stopped by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57