Being a Digital Nomad is the New "I Wanna Be an Astronaut When I Grow Up"

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

blaa.jpg

Well it seems like everyone here is a photographer and a traveller, and everyone wants to do that for a living, with the help of blockchain technology and Steemit.

Yes, me included, this is as much a self-examination as it is for raising conversation, and a wake up call for some people who aspire to do the same.

My question to you is, what differentiates you from all the other travelling photographers and why do you think you'd have a future in that?

In my opinion, having a camera (or a camera phone) and travelling every once in a while doesn’t automatically make you a traveller and a photographer. Just like cooking for yourself and your family doesn’t make you a professional chef. For me, it’s the same as a babysitter saying that she is a mother. You get my point?

How often do you travel for real? Once every year? Are you trying to make changes that allow you to travel more often? Why do you want to travel? Are you running away from something, or running towards something else?

How often do you pick up your camera and shoot? Are you actively trying to get better at it, learn more, teach yourself? What do you want your photographs to tell? Do you evaluate your own work and try to find ways to improve it?

What are the steps you are taking to achieve your goals? How hard are you willing to work for it? Are you praying, hoping and bitching about your current life, or are you taking tangible steps towards your goal?

You want to be free, but what is freedom to you? What is your end game?

What are you going to do if Steemit dies suddenly? Do you have anything to fall back on? Do you like rollercoasters?

Are you a survivor, and not just that, are you going to thrive in what ever you do?


These were the questions I bondered upon for months before I quit my day job, and these are the questions I will keep on asking myself and evaluating as my situation changes.

I am a full time Steemian. I blog, photograph and I get to do that, in theory, from where ever I want to. I worked my ass off to get here, and I will be working even more to make sure this doesn’t end soon. I take nothing for granted. I will never stop progressing.

Sort:  

Surely, Earth as a whole is rapidly heading towards becoming a technology planet. In my next life time I'll be born onto a nature planet where technology will be forbidden in most areas. I love that. I enjoy this life on Earth but am happy to detach from this technology trend the world is going towards, once done here.

Of course, on Earth it is a wonderful development to see decentralized systems coming more and more to the fore. Take Mannabase for example which freely distributes the new cryptocurrency Manna on a weekly basis without further conditions, to create a Universal Basic Income.

I think many are not at all travellers or photographers, because most people predominantly are still stuck in this self-presentation and show-off mode to exemplify how great a life they have. So it's not about the passion for the travel or photos but for attention from others..

Anyways, thanks for your outspoken post!

"In my next life time I'll be born onto a nature planet where technology will be forbidden in most areas. I love that. I enjoy this life on Earth but am happy to detach from this technology trend the world is going towards, once done here."

I concur. Well except for the word "forbidden" implies a top down hierarchy. I believe such a world, people would choose, not to be so distracted with technology.

I was thinking recently, that about the only people who have something approaching true freedom are the old order Amish, and they have their own problems.

Yes, "forbidden" was a bit misleading. It is not that type of forbidding out of disgust and aversion. It is just that the electromagnetic waves emanating from technology is somewhat disturbing the nature-based lifestyle and certain nature-based application 'devices' ;)

hard work has paid of for you and it encourages others . It takes a commitment to succeed in everything that one can do . The questions above are a broad brush of how to succeed if one wishes to .
Self Evaluation is an important and continual step .
thanks for sharing

Self evaluation is something I've had to learn since entering this weird and awesome new journey. It's been good for me.

Personally I HATE people who travel and take photos.

#BasementLife

#NoTanNoFucks

So me your awesome basement life, teach me the way!

1). Find a dark subterranean room.

2). Spend entirely too much time on internet chats.

3). Drink copious amounts of alcohol.

4). Eat too much.

5). Instead of going upstairs just piss in empty bottles.

6). Repeat steps 2-5.

7). Die alone.

Where does one get that food and alcohol?

Hi @eveuncovered Good post. The number one thing for me here is to have fun with it. I'm super happy for you that you're able to live the Steemit life.. can't wait to do the same. Best wishes to you and much love.

Why peoples taking pictures during flying . I can't understand .

To capture INCREDIBLE views like this...

Wingtip-View-01-SteemPowerPics.png

Wingtip-View-04-SteemPowerPics.png

Why people take pictures of anything? I can't understand, that is just so weird.

Some real deep thoughts you just brought forth
I really thought of the last two stanzas and reflected well enough or my reason for spending so much time on Steemit plus what happens should Steemit fall.
I love to travel too though seldomly but hoping to make changes that could see me travel often.

In my opinion, having a camera (or a camera phone) and travelling every once in a while doesn’t automatically make you a traveller and a photographer. Just like cooking for yourself and your family doesn’t make you a professional chef. For me, it’s the same as a babysitter saying that she is a mother. You get my point?

I definitely did got the points
So succinct yet awesome

Images of stuff with little or no explanation/elaboration are abundant here. Hopefully the posters are rewarded accordingly. I don't travel...much. Not enough to make it my content focus here. I guess my contribution is posting and commenting to make people aware of my mistakes to help them avoid doing the same. That and wherever I can get a word in edgewise. I certainly am not here to get rich quick.

I actually don't mind if there are a lot of pictures with little text, as long as the pictures are good and tell a story, but it is always better to tell a little something, let people know you.

Commenting is a really important part of Steemit and definitely "blogging" is not for everyone. Hope you don't mind me saying, but your age and life experiences offer a different view from most and that is valuable.

Does the get rich quick ever work? I don't think so.

I did not remember the old saying "a picture is worth a thousand words", but as you say if the image does not tell the whole story a few words to help is appreciated. Thanks for the kind words about my experience. A kind word from a pretty girl is always welcome.

Maybe I'm lacking in ambition but I actually don't want to do that at all. I shoot pretty professional standard images and I'm lucky that I have a few clients that pay generously for my abilities. Its not my career though. I manage an IT department as my main source of income and quite happy sticking to it. There so many creative outlets that I'd love to do but I'm used to a certainly income and it would be quite difficult to match that (at least reliably) if I was to change careers. Obviously money isn't everything, and I hope this doesn't sound like I'm overly money focused. Quite the opposite in fact, its not something I ever really have to think about or worry about in the last few years. I get to enjoy a really nice standard of living with some nice creature comforts. That also allows me to enjoy the creative interests I have at my own pace. If I get offered a photography job that I want to shoot and think I'll enjoy then I'll accept it. If I get offered something that I won't enjoy or working with people I don't want to work with, I simply turn it down. I know too many photographers who've "gone pro" and ended up hating photography. Something they used to do out of passion became something they were dependent on to pay bills and put food on the table. Some of them do very well from it but I've also seen this kill off any personal interest they have in it. Even travel.... it sounds like such a dream to travel the world and get paid to record your adventures for others. I've no doubt for some it works out exactly as they hoped. I also know a photographer who worked for an airline for two years travelling the world and shooting for their in flight publication. He makes no pretense that this was a very unhappy and lonely period for him. Of course he had to portray it as a constant fun adventure but he said the reality was very different. I guess everyones experience is going to vary as there's so many circumstances to factor in. I think I'm happy with my lot though. Steemit and all my creative interests have brought a lot of pleasure and benefits to my life, and I'm quite happy to continue enjoying them as a "bonus" instead of something I have any dependency on. That's my take on it anyway.

Well, not everyone does, but it is the current "trend". I always thought you are a professional photographer, I've missed the IT part altogether! People who say that money doesn't matter, are either rich AF or liars. So yeah if you are used to a certain income, it is really hard to cut pack from that. I was "lucky" to have a full time job that paid minimum income so I quite easily make more than that now :D

I've always been interested in blogging, but hated to see people advertising the most random shit in order to blog for a living. That was not the route I ever wanted to take. Though I still think Finnair should definitely sponsor me and fly me to half across the world when ever I want to 😂

Thank you for sharing more about yourself 🤗

You are outstanding! That post I have just read gave me the thrill I really need right now. Glad to discover your blog thanks to @anomadsoul's contest. Staying here for longer without doubts!

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #14! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76