You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DEBT AND INTEREST FREE DOLLARS "AND" CENTS...

in #steemit7 years ago

definition
Money: a fungible, portable, store of value.

at one time the US used money for transactions. Gold and silver coins were inherently valuable. The gold and sliver were coined as a connivence to the user so that he didn't have to carry a scale with him to measure the weight. For example a double eagle
*A double eagle is a gold coin of the United States with a denomination of $20. (Its gold content of 0.9675 troy oz (30.0926 grams) was worth $20 at the 1849 official price of $20.67/oz.) The coins are made from a 90% gold (0.900 fine = 21.6 kt) and 10% copper alloy and have a total weight of 1.0750 troy ounces (33.4362 grams).

One ounce of gold.

Gold is HEAVY, bulky and difficult to carry. As a connivence to the user warehouse receipts were issued. For example a silver certificate.
*The certificates were initially redeemable for their face value of silver dollar coins and later (for one year – 24 June 1967 to 24 June 1968) in raw silver bullion.

They were replaced by instruments of debt. IOU's in other words.

The United States, and the rest of the world I assume, no longer uses money. It uses debt.

Sort:  

A real dollar is a weight in either gold or silver... Not like what we're currently calling dollars... I love Gold and Silver Coins... I have a bunch of those too... At present, I'm just holding onto my Pocket Change... If my theory is correct, I'll be sitting pretty at the reset... If my theory is incorrect, I'll at least have some type of medium of exchange outside the Banking System when it crashes... No one knows when that will be, but whats the point of cashing it in for paper at this point in the game... The last thing I want to do is to cash in my gold and silver... I'd rather be holding coins then paper... Thanks for the comment and upvote...
@pocketechange

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44