Sort:  

As you know, my friend, vote power has a big impact upon the value of your votes... whether they bestow a penny or a pound is directly related (I just paused SV because my VP dropped below 70%). You have put your finger on the real problem with voting bots - they tend to devalue the process, which is intended to bestow rewards for good content - but that's what happens when a perception of financial reward is dangled in front of content providers.

my vote right now is $.07 @ %15
I spent the last several months with an imperceptible vote power $.001 @ %100
kinda makes me wonder as to what the best strategy is?

so I decided I don't have any stragtegy....just vote when I feel like it.

yup..bots have degraded the system..they attract spam.

Not only does it encourage spam it takes votes away from those who deserve it (the ones working very hard to earn pennies per post). If this continues, I wouldn't be surprised that a lot of people become discouraged and leave. Think about it: Why waste 4 hours making a great post that earns 8 cents when you could have earned way more than that at a minimum wage job! Take the difference between job earnings and post earnings and simply BUY Steem with it. Keep doing that and eventually you too can be a whale!

How a decline in members will affect the whales is something I don't know because I don't know if the number of posts made directly affects the amount of Steem produced each day. I assume there is some relationship, otherwise why bother promoting Steem at all?

the amount of steem being produced every day is constant.
the conversion to dollars is by voting.
that's the way it was set up.

If the amount produced is constant, then fewer participants can claim greater portions. Why advertise then? Would it not be better to keep quiet and hoard it?

no clue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62409.07
ETH 2444.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62