What is steemit bandwidth?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Source

Information they say is power. A popular saying in Nigeria goes "Person wey dey ask question no dey miss road" (meaning when you ask question, when you are not sure of how to get to where you are going, you won't miss your way).

Time of ignorance has passed, steemit blockchain has availed us with the opportunity to read, chat, ask and relate with others on the steemit blockchain.

I have learnt a lot about steemit even though I am still new on the platform, I came across a term used on the steemit blockchain that I am confused about and i will need the great minds and developers of this platform to explain to me and millions of users on the steemit blockchain.


Source

Question 1:

What is steemit bandwidth or what does steemit bandwidth stand for?

Question 2:

What does a negative bandwidth mean?

As part of my discoveries, I came across an account with a negative steemit bandwidth (e.g. @resteemsupport (-62. 17%) while others have positive bandwidth ranging differently.


Source

Question 3:

What is the effect of a negative steemit account?

Thank you for your anticipated response, of great minds (steemians).

Please comment, upvote, resteem and follow me @eugenecr7

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Sort:  

I will try to answer your question to the best of my abilities.
Bandwidth is there to prevent abuse in posting, some like spamming the blockchain.
it is the same way it works like voting power in the screen you have in your post. the more you vote, the less power you have

The more voting power you have, the more bandwidth you have.

Keep on steemin'

@pouchon, thank for your comment. I have learnt from it

Here is a post I just read about steemit bandwidth from a top 10 steemit witness, @timcliff.
From @timcliff's post, a new user needs to keep increasing his steem power in order to have plenty of bandwidth. I'll link another post from @demotruk (Steem witness), where he explains what can be done should your friend run out of bandwidth.

[edited...]

@maryfavour & @redfishpillar.

the link is broken

Thank you for identifying the problem, @ewuoso. I've just fixed it and added yet another link from @demotruk. Cheers.

@maryfavour & @redfishpillar.

Thanks for the explaination, @pouchon. Just now, I found this post written by @timcliff on the subject matter of steemit bandwidth. The explanaition is now understood. Keep steeming, bro.!

Well done,my dear brother @eugenecr7,for asking these pertinent questions.It was the great Albert Einstein who said and I quote:"The important thing is not to stop questioning". Thus,asking good questions, like the ones you've asked is crucial for advancement in civilization and scientific research.Keep it up!!

It's a good thing that you are asking this question, @eugenecr7. Hopefully, someone who knows will respond. I'm interested to know what answers you will get. Thank you.

@maryfavour & @redfishpillar.

I hope we get a quick response, Thanks @maryfavour

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69