How to Grab FollowerssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

In recent days there have been a flood of new users to Steemit and I have noticed my followers increasing daily. I had been aiming at increasing my following by 100 a month, but this past month I have increased my followers by nearly 300 in one month alone. I have also noticed some new accounts with a huge number of followers for the short time they have been here.



In this post find out why followers are important?, what people are doing to get followers? and some tips to help you increase yours.


Visibility

Followers are important on Steemit as they are a key ingredient to successful posts here. Your post needs to get seen to be able to get votes, comments and interaction. A post for a new user, a user without followers, only appears on one or two feeds and can quickly disappear into oblivion.

Follower Feeds

When you post, your post will automatically appear in your followers feeds. The next time they log on to Steemit they will see recent posts from people they follow. This is a way to filter content on Steemit and is crucial to remember so that your carefully crafted content gets the visibility it deserves. For newbies it's also good to know that this is probably the reason why that first post you have put so much effort, energy and passion into has only got 2 votes.

Engagement

When talking about followers it is not all about numbers, quality is just as important.
Who do you want to see your posts?
If your goal is to get a message out, get comments and feedback then you will need to have people follow you that have similar interests.
You will also need followers that are awake the same time as you. Don't forget Steemit is Global!. Breakfast time in Europe is the middle of the night in America.

High Payouts

If your interested in getting high payouts then you need to find followers that have a lot of Steem power, their votes carries more weight. You need to find a few Whales and get them to follow you to help with this.



Whales

When you vote or when someone votes for you, the increase in payment is a factor of several things but a key ingredient is the Steem Power of the person voting. People with a large amount of Steem Power are known as Whales. Some use their power for questionable purposes but most use their power for good. They have a huge investment in the platform and it's in their interest to make the place better. They do this by promoting content which they feel is to the benefit of the community.



Everyone remembers bagging their first whale, that's when a post you wrote jumps from nothing to 10 dollars.

New Users

There have been consistently hundreds of new users signing up each day. Some of these accounts already have a large following, 700+ in just a few days.



Daily Report by @arcange

There is obviously an art to getting followers and remember this is key to get your posts seen. So what can you do to get a share of these new users and maybe bag a whale in the process?


Analysis

The first thing to do is to look at accounts with successful strategies for gaining followers. What have they done and what can you learn from? This first graph shows the Number of Followers ordered by Account Value.

Followers



data from www.steemwhales.com

The stand out points is highest account by followers is @dollarvigilante with 5,463 Followers, (the top left).

In the middle there are some accounts with over 1,000 followers which will be interesting to look at.

But what really stands out to me are at the lower end of the account value, where there are a few accounts with significant followers. I would assume these are new accounts so how have they managed to get so many followers in a short space of time? I am going to explore these accounts in another post. There are some unusual ones. There is one with just 2 posts but over 900 followers.

Accounts with most Followers

Lets continue by looking at the accounts with the most followers. The following table shows the accounts with the most followers. An interesting ratio to look at is the ratio of Posting to Curation rewards.

NamePost CountFollowersFollowingPostingCuration
@dollarvigilante4755463621010737072785238
@always1success129636193701210839218093
@dantheman1524350730104661478403815439
@instructor2121960320632843890592214865
@joanaltres3483156324395482775444
@ned569306227618092324734131775
@thecryptofiend1599126852533806882333222294
@marketreport684247024674337509490
@stellabelle9808244314421817774625311794
@fyrstikken2692243820125481871511365941

Accounts Following the most

Some accounts actively follow lots of users. Is this a good strategy to get followers?

NameRepPost CountFollowersFollowing
@always1success63.9129636193701
@instructor212166.696032063284
@joanaltres58.334831563243
@ned65.356930622761
@thecryptofiend74.11599126852533
@marketreport62.568424702467
@hilarski72.5501623632395
@papa-pepper74.61748022172204
@carlobelgado54.86319852076
@fyrstikken72.7269224382012

Tips

Finally some tips to gain followers.



Make Connections

The only way to gain genuine followers is to make connections. This requires time and effort. You need to interact with people. This can seem intimidating at first but you will quickly get to know people from reading their posts, commenting on articles and reaching out to people in Steemit Chat or on Discord.

Regular Posting

Regular posting helps, each post I write I usually pick up a few followers. This is how I started but it can be very demoralising at first if your posts are not getting much attention. Persevere, even if a post I wrote only got 5 cents, as long as I got 1 new follower I was happy.

Introduce Yourself

There are a few ways to do this, you can write an introduce yourself post, but even updating your bio in the about section of your profile will make a difference. A cool Avatar or photo of yourself will make your account stand out and memorable too.

Don't forget to have fun and comment lots. If there is a particular topic your interested in, check out the photography tag and comment on those posts. When someone comments on my post I usually follow them back if their comment has been interesting. Be generous with your follows and people will reciprocate.

Bag a Whale

In general bagging a whale and getting genuine followers require the same formula. Good quality content, and consistent, but I feel this may change as Steemit evolves. It may be a case where additional filters will be included so that you can read articles for example, just get posts about photography etc.

I have gotten a few whales to vote for me since I joined here, but only one or two follows. Most are very discerning and will only follow you if they like what your doing. There is hard and fast rule here but you probably need to make a good impression.



Observations

I noticed a few notable accounts that do not follow many people. I find it surprising that some of the most prolific authors, and ones who regularly earn very large rewards do not follow many users.



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Images are taken from https://pixabay.com/ unless otherwise stated.


Sort:  

I'm pretty new to Steemit and this post was very helpful and full of new things for me to learn and explore. Thanks for posting!

Thanks a lot for the information. All newbies like myself will find this useful.

Your very welcome @momogrow

Great analysis! I'm always hoping to get some new followers for each new post I make, and I tend to always get a few, so I'm building a slow and steady follower base :) Interacting also works pretty good for me, but sadly I don't have too much time to interact these days, so it has slowed down a bit lately.

But thanks for writing this! It definitely motivates me to find some new people to follow and interact with them :)

Building a steady follower base is definitely the best way to go. That is my approach too. I had work commitments there in April but thankfully I have gotten back into posting lots recently.

Thanks for stopping by and for the compliment.

This is very helpful. Follow Me & I will do the same!

Thanks @iot-corp, I will check out your blog.

Thank you so much for the tip! As i am in the process of every free time in gaining followers and its been fun too. It also took me away from facebook. I havent even checked it for a week now. Upvoted hope you follow me too as i can tell you will be a big whale soon!

Welcome to Steemit. You wont go back 😆

Engaging is key and the most valuable asset for young Steemians.

I agree 100%, steemitchat, discord and commenting will go a long way.

I appreciate this post. I am new to the platform and have only posted the introduceyourself blog so far. I just really enjoy writing and want to share some messages with my followers. And likewise, I want to read good quality content. What I've noticed though, is that there is a ton of GREAT content here. So it's pretty uplifting.

I'll just start small, and hopefully can end up with a relatively successful blog. But your observations and advice makes a lot of sense.

Thank you @shawnfishbit.

I never used a blogging platform before Steemit, for several reasons but mainly because I thought what I would write would probably never get seen by anyone. On Steemit you get recognition in several ways which makes writing here rewarding. On top of that it seems to have attracted a very nice and interesting bunch of people which makes the audience very special and is a big added bonus.

Unfortunately there are no short cuts but pumping out regular quality content will get you noticed and with increased followers will come increased engagement and interaction and rewards. Also don't forget to read and engage with other users on their posts. This will help you build further connections.

Thank you for reading this post and I wish you well in your writing. I look forward to reading some of it.

Thanks for the post, but still i think it is not to be grapped how to get more followers in a short term.

Amazing post my friend, am still new on steemit and trying to get the required amount of exposure for my posts even though they have been fantastic, the response has been really poor, well i guess it's just part of the cycle...some price I need to pay at the beginning....thanks for sharing :)

Ill check out your blog, I am following you already. You have some great posts. Keep it up and you will get the exposure you deserve. Even if some of your posts dont do great, you can reuse the material at a later stage and post an updated version. It wont go to waste.

Thanks friend for the advice, I would put it to great use :)

You have treated a very important issue for we newbies, thats very generous, thanks a lot............ #nowfollowing

Hi @ericdyce, thank you for the kind words, I love your bio tagline. I can relate to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30