Dolphins and Minnows get more influence...ContinuedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Last week I posted an analysis of user engagement on Steemit.

An experiment has been running on Steemit to see what happens if Dolphins and Minnows get more influence. I have really noticed the effect of it when upvoting posts and comments. My vote is finally worth something!!!

But how is this experiment playing out?

Thanks to @furion and https://steemdata.com/ we have access to lots of data from the Steem Blockchain in a digestible format.

Lets look at some of the data....


Distribution of Payouts Per Day

This first graph shows the breakdown of the post payouts coloured by author reputation. The noticable feature of this graph is the bottom right corner. We are seeing much more colour which means that more posts are getting some reward and fewer getting nothing or just pence. i.e. a more even distribution of rewards with more going to lower Rep authors.



This second graph looks at median payouts. If there are more authors engaging with the platform then the rewards will be distributed among more people so you would expect to see the median or average payout falling.
The following graph shows that has been trending down which means a more even distribution of rewards.




Votes, Comments and Posts



The number of comments and posts continue to be strong. There is a clear upward trend since the experiment began.

Bot Votes

I have labelled any vote that is less than 5% Steem Power as a bot vote. These seemed to die for a few days but they have picked up again. Were some of the bots down?


Posting Patterns of Different Groups

I have grouped authors of different reputation levels together and plotted the number of authors who post per day in each group.
There is a clear up trend in number of posts for the range of Reputation 35 to 56. That is there is more people posting from these groups since the experiment began.



Conclusions

  • People with lower reputations (the new users) are writing more
  • People are commenting more
  • Payouts are more evenly distributed

This all adds up to more engagement on the platform.

What do you think of the experiment??

Further Reading about the experiment
@abit posted about the experiment in the following post if you want to read more about it.



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.




Sort:  

My vote is finally worth something!!!

When I use to vote someone up, the price would go from $0.00 to $0.00 -- I hated that..

Now when I upvote my commenters or people on my feed, it changes to an instant $0.03 cents most of the time. That feels a lot better.

It seems like a small thing but it definitely engages you more. I am really getting used to it. I hope they dont take it away.

I feel the same :)

Nice stuff here.

It matches in my head some of the things I have made notes of too, ie hearing a lot more from new people and the lower rep. scores, that stuck out to me, also.

I have noticed that too. I think some of these will be new users but a portion will be people benefiting from the experiment.

It is true for sure.

Have a good day!!!!

Have you noticed all the posts written since y-day, at least for me -- are now showing all $0.00 payouts? It just happened in the last half hour.

I am hoping a temporary glitch to do with the HF. All our reps are 25 too :(

My main screen is showing 68 still but maybe down in the reply areas, it will for me. I do see yours at 25 now.

In a way this is funny. All the 0's and 25 rep scores really level the playing field here

hahahahaha

Yep, in the replies areas, it shows 25 now.

Someone clicked the reset button by accident. :)

I understand. I made this up and it is in a new post moments ago. (:

Thank you @eroche for the investigative work and report.

We are noticing a lowering of the rewards per vote....is this due to the reward curve changing or the price fluctuations or both.

Appreciate the information and charts. Cheers.

Hi @bluejay where is this noticeable?
Is this being caused by the increased numbers of comments? As you can see in my graphs they have really taken off in the last few days. The comments will take a share of the rewards pool.

Thank you for your reply @eroche.

To answer your query...noticeable only in the experience of users and they have commented to that effect....bleujay has no data. If they could bring four cents to a comment...now they only bring two cents....etc.

Appreciate the information. Cheers.

This is great news @Eroche! I can feel the electricity on the platform.

nice one thanks @hilarski

All the indicators are positive

That's some great data, thank you for posting ;)

Thanks for the feedback.

Thanks for the data! Great to see the results of the experiment in graphs.

Thanks for the feedback. There are some interesting results emerging. I cant wait to see what HF18 looks like in the data.

This could reflect on the price if there isn't someone pulling all the strings from the shadows.

Altcoin prices for the last few days have been crazy. I honestly don't think there is much reason to them at all. Long term it should reflect in the price but Crypto seems to play by its own rules. We shall see.

It's speculation on how others will speculate. Specu-ception. In the long run the market will sort it all out, but I could rant for hours about how it's effectively subsidised and encouraged by central bank policy.

Many users said they would stop posting because of the experiment, these same users are now posting more than ever...

I did stop posting for a while but I can't stay off steemit for long :)

Ever get the feeling your being watched :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20