My First 24 Hours on Steemit: The ResultssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

My first official 24 hours on Steemit has come to a close!

When I first created my account, I wasn't sure what to expect. But what I found was a vibrant community with a sort of ‘pure’ feel to it. The concept is so fresh and unique compared to the Twitters and Facebooks of the world. It really feels like the future.

My wife and I travel full-time, creating travel vlogs and writeups about our adventures. So, our goal in the first 24 hours was to connect with at least a handful of other Steemians and to write our first travel related pieces for the Steemit universe.

It’s obvious that if you come to Steemit just for the money, you’re not going to go very far. Like any network it takes time, quality content and quality interactions to build something. This first day was an experiment to see if this was something we want to continue to do, and I’m happy to say, it definitely is!

So without further ado, here’s a breakdown of our first day:

Screenshot 2017-07-14 14.06.42.png

22 Followers
To me, this feels like a decent following for day 1! We grew this mostly from commenting on other interesting posts, resteeming posts and following others.

39 Reputation
If you don’t already know, reputation is determined directly by the amount of up votes you receive. Stemians start with a rep of 25, so we were able to grow ours by 14 in 24 hours.

51 Posts
It looks like posts, resteems and comments all count towards your post count, and I racked up 51 during day 1.

What were your results like when you first started on Steem? What sort of growth have you seen since then? Leave a comment and let everyone know!

And don't forget to upvote 😊 this post is 100% powered up!

Sort:  

Welcome from a fellow food guy. I'm a professional entertainer and impressionist, but also have a saucier certificate. Will be interested to see some of your unique food finds!

Thanks a lot, and that's awesome! Excited to share all these crazy foods with the Steemit community :D

Welcome @endlessadventure! Sounds like you had a good first day. You are going to do JUST FINE on here. I got up to 108 followers in a week or two and I wasn't trying. You will be flying in no time, just be yourself. There are lots of travelers on here and I'm sure your following from other platforms will make things almost effortless. Welcome to Steemit! @ecoknowme See you around!

Thanks for the comment, I appreciate the positivity! And congrats on your growth. Excited to see where we can all take this place :D

To the moon and around the world! But seriously, I think people are underestimating the differences. I think if people stop looking at the platform as just a blog but as a democratizing force that empowers people to do what they want and share uncensored and direct content, goods, value and currencies to the world, then we might REALLY get somewhere. Just a thought from someone a few weeks in.... wrote this to the same effect: https://steemit.com/steemit/@ecoknowme/stop-treating-your-revolution-like-it-s-a-blog-ecoknowme-advice-to-the-steemit-community
Feel free to go further!!!

Excellent results brother, success

When I started I set a goal of 10 followers per day and was definitely able to keep it up. The trouble is upvotes run out of power very fast thanks to the HF19 changes.

Resteems seem to have little power unless it is a whale with thousands of followers resteeming you.

The Rep improvements slow down drastically at about 49.

Just a couple thoughts. Welcome to the community and Steem On! btw... make sure you join the discord channel for minnows.

Thanks a ton for the extra info. I'm still deciphering how this crazy place works 🤓 Yeah I figured the rep was on a sliding scale. Glad you were able to keep up the growth!

It is tough, but can occasionally be really worth it. I stopped doing expansive posts until I hit 500 fans... I may wait on them till I'm much higher. I've also started converting my facebook friends into Steemians :-)

Nice, yeah I think that's a good strategy. We've got a good following on YouTube so hoping to convert them into Steem followers as well 👍🏻 We'll see how it all goes!

Do a video series and explain out how to join and that it takes time to get verified. I think it is better now but a month ago was taking users up to a couple weeks to get final verification.

Oh yeah good call, it only took me a matter of minutes, hopefully that keeps up!

Something many new members don't realize is that the system has to pay for you to join. It is about 30$ in value as I understand it. So if the number of new applications is way up the whole process slows down.

Upvoted and followed. I look forward to reading about your adventures in travel!

2 follower only on my first 24 hours here. Upvoted and followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32