You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal: How to fix the broken Trending page

in #steemit6 years ago

I'd like to see some kind of serious conversation started about the awful "visibility' problem on Steemit. One point in this post that I certainly agree with is ... either make the "Trending Page" relevant and worthwhile ... or shoot it. Shoot it dead and do it quick.

Right now it is a depressing embarrassment to all of us who care about Steemit and its future. Depressing, because when you look at the crap on that page and the huge amounts of money pending for the authors you just want to hang yourself. Embarrassing, because other people -- outsiders and potential recruits -- take a look at this junk and think that's what we're all about.

That Trending Page may do more to entice the spammers and crap-promoters to come here than any other single feature. There should be new words to describe how awful it is.

I'm not sure your resteem idea is the answer though, attractive as it is in theory. It would -- as some have said -- only replace upvote bots with resteem services. And for some reason people on Steemit passionately hate resteems. I don't understand why, but they do.

I haven't had much experience with FB or Tw. Neither of those places appealed to me (to put it mildly.) My greatest social media experience was with G+ and I dearly loved it. Shares there were the norm, and wonderful, and everybody did it. If you found something nice, you put it on your stream. It was a compliment -- and people enjoyed the variety (or they stopped following you. Simple remedy.)

I know people made fun of G+ but I enjoyed it ... and I miss it ... and sometimes I go back to my old friends there just for the relief of some decent content and conversations.

If Steemit doesn't solve its visibility problem, it's doomed to a slow and unlovely death -- which would be a real shame. That Trending Page is a starting place for improvements. And people like you with moxie, original thoughts and initiative are among those who can help it happen.

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52