You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT BLOG IMPROVEMENT TIPS - From ME to YOU!

in #steemit7 years ago

This is such a wonderful and comprehensive list, @jaynie. (I feel like there should be an exam or something at the end of reading it!!) As a curator for three different small projects on Steemit, I read a lot of posts and I see these mistakes constantly. I am so glad you put this tutorial together. (It reads like something I'd have written if I had the time!! Coming from me, that is a huge compliment!)

The problems you've mentioned with "post substance" top the list for me. I see all kinds of good ideas that have no center, that have no coherence, that start out ... and go nowhere. It's like the person decided "I want to write a post about such-and-such," opened up Markdown, rambled around until they came up with 500 words, gave up and pushed "Post." As a professional writer for decades I was astonished to find people actually compose their entire posts in Markdown. I would never consider such a thing.

I have a word processing program. LibreOffice ... every bit as good as Word -- I've used them both -- and FREE!!! Download and learn to use it!! I have a text editor where I format documents for my website AND for Steemit posts. NoteTab Lots and lots of features. There is also a free version NoteTab Lite These are my tools. There are others and you may prefer one of them.

Write your post there where you can save it, edit it easily, make changes and "let it rest for a while." Read it aloud to yourself. (You're apt to find typos you missed the first time through. This happens to me all the time.) How does it sound? Do you like it? Is it interesting? Does it "flow?" If not ... change it. If it's good to go ... publish it.

Think of it this way. You have a job to do on Steemit. Your job is to create interesting content that is useful, entertaining, educational, informative -- or maybe all of the above. Your job is not to just create a lot of posts. Your job is to create really good posts. As such, you need to work to improve yourself with every new effort. Approach your writing from this perspective and your writing is almost bound to improve. If you need help, get help. Learn to do better. You and Steemit (to say nothing of your poor long-suffering readers!!) will profit from it.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. He's really not as annoying as you might think. <--- He always makes me say that.)

I'm putting this link in a file where I can find it again and send people to it. It really should be enshrined somewhere. Somewhere special.

Sort:  

Thank you for your wonderfully insightful AND useful response @enchantedspirit!! It really meant a lot to me. I am on my way to go and check out your link right away and thank you for the support on my post.... it is always wonderful when what you write truly resonates with people xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65