I flagged a copycat!

in #steemit7 years ago

I flagged someone for the first time.

I read a great article yesterday, called ‘Why bitshares is going to dominate in 2018’. https://steemit.com/trending/@safvan/why-bitshares-going-to-dominate-in-2018

It’s well written with a couple of nice graphics so, naturally, I gave it a 100% vote.

I read through the comments and nearly missed the fact, highlighted by two commentators, that the article was a cut-and-paste job. Both gave the link to the original article, first published 7 months ago by @dutch https://steemit.com/bitshares/@dutch/bitshares-is-going-to-dominate-crypto-in-2018-here-s-why

I am not a fan of flagging. I think a lot of it is just being used as glorified cyberbullying and I tend to be more live and let live. But I flagged this. Not that it made a great difference – right now it’s set for a payout of $247.35.

image.png

I wonder how many other articles @safvan has pinched. A quick look shows that two have been greyed out and he/she seems to have done a copy and paste of the EOS article by Katie Roman on @eosgo. https://steemit.com/trending/@safvan/eos-the-great-liberator and https://steemit.com/eos/@eosgo/eos-the-great-liberator

I would like to think that, being new, he/she is just doing this innocently. But no one can be that stupid, can they???

Sort:  

Zero tollerance for plagurism.

Although it is still in the beta phase, I would anticpate at some point that Steemit will introduce a net-scanning tool of some sort. Universities employ these for assignment checking where if a random string of 7-12 words is idetical to something else on their database, it gets flagged.

Considering the monetary incentive on Steemit to publish good content, it would be a good tool for Steemit to improve the platform's credability, even if they only scan (with a high tolerence threshold) posters until they reach a certer level of steem power.

There is a cheetah bot that checks, but it seems to have missed this. Maybe it just checks against articles that have been published outside of google and not against other steemit articles.

While I hate flagging and the act of downvoting, I have zero tolerance for plagiarism...especially when it is not properly credit to the authors. You were right to downvote and should warn the copycat, so they don't do it again.

Yeah, anyone can make a mistake, but cutting and pasting an entire article plus images takes the biscuit!

well done! this is a brave leap in to the world of appropriate flagging! Ive still never done it....

Resist. resist! I felt really bad doing it as I really am not a fan, but I was more upset that someone just copied someone else's work like that. I guess we all have our breaking point. This is my Breaking Bad. It's downhill from here 😲😲😲😝

haha! You will become a flagging tyrant now that you have the taste! You will wake up in the night, DESPERATE to flag someone! ANYONE!!!!

From 👼 to 😈. Be afraid. Be very afraid...

Congratulations @embracingchaos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you @steemitboard. As you have a (60) I guess you are official. As a non-techie who somehow has fallen down the crypto/blockchain rabbithole though , I am a bit confused. Are you 'official'.(Errr, not sure even what I mean by that myself. ) I mean, are you a decentralised being who just picked the name steemitboard,, or are you actually a member of an organised board/network. (Disclaimer: I am not hooked up with any particular group /religion/ethos). I guess, on the bigger picture, I mean, where is your place? Your place in my head. As something that is completely irrelevant? Or as a (perhaps outdated, but maybe not, standard bearer. Or, perhaps, someone like, I suspect, the majority of us (currently) who are just feeling our way along...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.19
ETH 2613.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67