Steempoll : What the community thinks about flagging?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Flagging is lately a big issue here on steemit, at todays Poll I like to ask: 

What you think about flagging on Steemit? Click here to participate!




Here the results from yesterdays Poll:



Sort:  

I think when a whale flags a post and this flag carries the weight of so many minnow posts you end up with an oligarchy then wields to much power. Either change the wieght of the flag to even out its impact. or make it costly to flag so that it isn't just being thrown around Willy milky

I have never flagged a post. There has been a couple that I was tempted to flag, but I don't feel that it is appropriate for me to make that judgement.

I think if somebody is stealing someone elses identity, or committing plagiarism they should be flagged.

I've seen some posts that may be inappropriate for children.

I like the idea where a committee would make a value judgement as to what should be flagged. A committee comprised of people tha completely understand the rules. I believe this would eliminate some of the questionable flagging.

The Philosophy of Flags

...someone could write a thesis.

I have to say in the flag discussion I am split. Currently, the Steemians are a small community where I have experienced a lot of respect and courtesy. I think, however, the larger this community becomes all the more anonymous. And the more anonymously the less inhibited the flag as a "power instrument". Best example for the negative effects of the anonymity is FB, where haterposts are already normal today.

On the other hand, I have to say unfortunately the partly very content-questionable and inferior posts online. These could be minimized in the long term but requires the already mentioned courtesy and the respect. Especially from a larger community.

Thanks for putting this poll up and giving us a chance to vote on this issue.

And.... i didn't know about Strawpoll before, so you have introduced me to a new very useful website :-)

if I could vote twice for this post I would ;-)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97